Novice questions about wiring connections

Old 04-03-16, 10:45 AM
C
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Novice questions about wiring connections

I have been trying to learn as much as possible about electrical work. I'm still a novice, and I have a few questions. These are really basic, but I'm just trying to learn best practices. I want my work to look neat and professional. I appreciate any input.

1. If I am replacing a switch/outlet, is it best to re-strip the looped ends? Or, should I just unscrew and attach them to the new switch. I have some home automation switches that use pigtails instead of terminal screws. In that case, is it better to re-strip rather than straighten with pliers?

2. When undoing a pigtail, what is the best approach? Should I undo all of the wires with pliers? Can they safely be re-twisted when a new connection is added?

3. When tightening a wire nut, is there a way to tell when it is tight enough? Should I see a visible twist in the insulated part of the wires (especially #14)? I've noticed that in a couple of boxes in my house, the wires aren't twisted around each other (the insulated part, not the bare copper).

4. Can anyone recommend a good pair of linesman pliers? Is the Klein D213-9NE a good choice (http://www.amazon.com/Klein-Tools-D2...lineman+pliers)?

Thank you in advance for any suggestions/advice.

Old 04-03-16, 11:07 AM
Group Moderator
Received 3,952 Upvotes on 3,545 Posts
You'd only need to re-strip the wire at a device if there wasn't enough copper showing or the wire broke off. If the wire is bent in a loop you can carefully straighten it out. If it breaks off.... then re-strip it.

When opening a splice.... untwist gently. You don't want to break off any of the wires. Some times the wire you want access to is on the outside of the splice in which case you can remove just that water without having to untwist everything.