How to measure Voltage without cutting wire?


  #1  
Old 04-30-16, 12:56 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question How to measure Voltage without cutting wire?

Is it possible to measure Voltage without cutting a wire. No needles penetrated the wire))
 
  #2  
Old 04-30-16, 01:43 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
No. Why do you need to do this.
 
  #3  
Old 04-30-16, 01:47 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,113
Received 72 Votes on 65 Posts
Any wire that I have seen starts and ends someplace, and you should be able to take a reading at one of those points, but you need to be more specific.
 
  #4  
Old 05-01-16, 05:38 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,197
Received 53 Votes on 49 Posts
Are we answering your test questions for you???
 
  #5  
Old 05-01-16, 07:03 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,738
Received 54 Votes on 51 Posts
yes, but it will cost lots of $$.
 
  #6  
Old 05-01-16, 10:05 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,254
Received 114 Votes on 99 Posts
I would say yes, but you need to know the load on the circuit.

Anyone want to play along?
 
  #7  
Old 05-01-16, 03:30 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,612
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
If you have a constant load with known value (light bulb, heater coil, etc..), you can measure current with a clamp meter and calculate voltage from it.
I think this is what pcboss is suggesting.

But, this can have pretty big error because a clamp meter is not very accurate. Error of few hundreds mA can mean several volts of error.
The equation is
V=P/I
Where V is volt, P is power in W, I is current in A.
 
  #8  
Old 05-01-16, 09:18 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,254
Received 114 Votes on 99 Posts
We have a winner.
 
  #9  
Old 05-02-16, 04:43 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,738
Received 54 Votes on 51 Posts
Becomes tougher, but still possible, when the load is zero.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: