What size wire to run to driveway gate?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-10-16, 10:11 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What size wire to run to driveway gate?

I want to run a circuit to my driveway gate--
the gate opener is a 24v system that pulls 3 amps while running.
I also will have a led light on the top of each gate column ( two total -- possible 3 if I put a light illuminating address)

the gate is 320 feet from the electrical panel.
question ---
what size wire, and breaker do I need for that run.
I plan on putting wire in pvc 18" below ground
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-10-16, 10:51 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 35 Votes on 27 Posts
I would suggest running a standard 15 ampere 120 volt circuit using #12 copper conductors. Place the back-up battery and charger in an enclosure at the gate. This way you can use standard 120 volt LED bulbs and the voltage drop with the load of the battery charger will be minimal.

If you were to run only 24 volts you would need to use at least #6 copper conductors to keep the voltage drop within reason.
 
  #3  
Old 05-10-16, 11:47 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,466
Received 103 Votes on 82 Posts
At 320ft the max load you can have on #12 Cu is about 4 to 5 amps to stay below a 5% voltage drop. Also if the 120V circuit is GFCI protected at the source you can get by with it being buried 12 inches if it's a 20A or less circuit.
 
  #4  
Old 05-10-16, 12:38 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
great info!!! -- thanks -- anyother suggestions are much appreciated
 
  #5  
Old 05-10-16, 12:46 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
I'll throw in that if you want to be able to use the full 15A at the gate you will need to use #8 copper for the hot & neutral and #10 copper for the ground. Probably not necessary, but just throwing that out there.

I'd use at least 3/4" maybe even 1" conduit due to the length of the run. One hand hole pull box in the middle would be a good idea too.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: