GFCI problem


  #1  
Old 05-29-16, 04:03 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GFCI problem

I replaced the regular outlet on my porch with a Leviton switch and GFCI outlet, 12A/ 125v.
Ran 30ft of 12/2 wire (underground 18in in plastic conduit) to a 20A/125v outdoor outlet, also GFCI. Running 2 fountains, each is 3.2w. 0.06A.
I flip the switch and the fountains turn on.

Everything runs fine but the GFCI for the outdoor outlet pops after about an hour.
The outdoor outlet is on a metal pole.

What do I look for? Doesn't seem the fountains would pull enough power to pop them unless one of them is going bad
 
  #2  
Old 05-29-16, 04:24 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,878
Received 210 Votes on 193 Posts
You have some intermittent problem with current leakage to the water or to the earth. This is what trips a ground fault circuit interrupter.

Unplug one of the fountains and run the other for a few hours. Then repeat with the first fountain in an effort to find out which one has the current leakage.
 
  #3  
Old 05-29-16, 06:03 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
Ran 30ft of 12/2 wire (underground 18in in plastic conduit)
12-2 is cable not wire. What type of cable did you run? Was the jacket gray?
to a 20A/125v outdoor outlet, also GFCI.
If you ran from the load side of the first GFCI you should have used a non GFCI receptacle. No need for a 20 amp receptacle. Two GFCIs can interfere with each other. A 15 amp receptacle would have been fine.
Doesn't seem the fountains would pull enough power to pop them unless one of them is going bad
Excess load doesn't trip GFCI, current leakage does.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: