is this timer a fire hazard?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-01-16, 07:22 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 2,080
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
is this timer a fire hazard?

bought a heavy duty timer to operate an air conditioner that has an issue where it can only be on full or off. but before i even got to plug in the AC this happened as i attempted to program it:

i plugged the new timer in the outlet and the numbers started cycling like it was possessed and pressing the set button was really not responsive. pressed the reset button and all went blank. went back and exchanged it.

decided to plug new one in the bottom outlet just to see what happened. the thing made several loud repetitive clicking noises then the display froze and was unable to do anything.

i hit reset and plugged it in again and i was able to set it up and did a quick test of the AC going on and running a minute then off and that worked .however if you shake the timer, there's something loose in there. something tells me this is not good?

the AC works just fine if you plug it in by itself. well except the thermostat doesnt work. so its either on cold all the time or you unplug it to turn it off. but again. all this weird stuff happened to the timers before i even plugged in the AC.
 
  #2  
Old 06-01-16, 07:39 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I'd take it back and get a different brand. What is the maximum amp rating of the timer?

Its a real hack job but on older non electronic window A/Cs you can use regular room thermostat, 24 volt transformer, and a relay.
 
  #3  
Old 06-02-16, 05:20 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 2,080
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
15 a 1875 v

if the darn AC wasnt 50 yr old id fix it but i had someone out years ago regarding other fedders issues and they said forget it even regarding them. and thru the wall units are very $$$ and i hate to get rid of this one since it 'works'
 
  #4  
Old 06-02-16, 07:26 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
if the darn AC wasn't 50 yr old id fix it
That old it might be easy to put a thermostat on it. You just need to put a contactor on the power leads instead of a timer and use a low voltage A/C thermostat same as you would with a central A/C. Cost might be comparable to that of a timer. You would need a control transformer also but that wouldn't cost that much. The key is if it has real on off switches not an electronic control board.
 
  #5  
Old 06-02-16, 11:10 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 2,080
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
returned the timer. that was an imperfect solution anyway. i did notice this morning the AC unit was just blowing hot air cause reached the temp. so maybe i can fanangle it to work but not get tooooo cold.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: