Upgrading home electrical service

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-05-16, 01:34 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Upgrading home electrical service

I live in a mobile home built in 1984. I currently have 100 amp service and need to upgrade--probably to 200 amps. Everything in my home is electric. We have no gas service whatsoever.

I have been doing some research and have learned that I probably need to replace everything from the meter to the house. Question 1 is when, if ever, it is necessary or appropriate to replace the meter?

I went to look at my meter and main breaker, and I don't know what gauge wires are coming into my house from the 100 amp breaker outside, but it looks like they are the same gauge as the wires coming from the street. So that begs the second question: if my SE cables only provide 100 amp service and they are the same size as the ones coming from the street, do I need to call the power company and ask them to replace those cables as well?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-05-16, 02:30 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My meter says "CL200" on it. So that means it's rated for 200A right?
 
  #3  
Old 06-05-16, 03:27 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Welcome to the forums. No, the CL200 indicates the class of the meter. But it could possibly handle more than 100 amp service. You would need to have the power company look at your service entrance from the transformer to determine if it is large enough to handle the new service demands. I do find it odd that a mobile home will exceed a 100 amp service, though. What gives you the impression that you need a larger service? Do you have a detached shop or garage with a large demand for service?
 
  #4  
Old 06-05-16, 03:47 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,151
Received 87 Votes on 74 Posts
Unless you are adding large loads I doubt you need a service upgrade. The service should have been designed for the loads already. The park may not be able to supply a 200 amp service.
 
  #5  
Old 06-05-16, 03:48 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,667
Received 323 Votes on 287 Posts
I have a house I built around an old mobile home and it had [still does] a 200 amp service when I bought it. I think the type of heat a MH has plays a part in determining the service size. Locally for whatever reason the POCO gets to use a smaller wire than you are allowed to for the house. My 200 amp service is fed by wires that are a good bit smaller ..... and the POCO's service wire is about 400' long.
 
  #6  
Old 06-05-16, 10:44 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,638
Received 210 Votes on 186 Posts
if my SE cables only provide 100 amp service and they are the same size as the ones coming from the street, do I need to call the power company and ask them to replace those cables as well?
The power company sizes their own wires and do not follow the NEC. We are required to follow the NEC.
 
  #7  
Old 06-05-16, 03:08 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,663
Received 87 Votes on 77 Posts
I live in a mobile home built in 1984. I currently have 100 amp service and need to upgrade--probably to 200 amps.
What makes you think you need a 200 amp service? Are you adding some substantial new loads? Are you changing out a gas furnace for electric?

if my SE cables only provide 100 amp service and they are the same size as the ones coming from the street, do I need to call the power company and ask them to replace those cables as well?
You definitely need to call the power company, but that doesn't mean they'll be upgrading their wiring. They'll probably ask you some specific questions about loads. Most power companies size their wiring according to calculated load, if you aren't adding substantial new loads they probably will leave their wiring the same as it is now. Most power companies that I know of all follow the National Electric Safety Code which is different from the NEC.

when, if ever, it is necessary or appropriate to replace the meter?
Never. The power company owns the meter and will change it as they desire. You will, of course, have to change the meter socket to 200 amps when you upgrade your service.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: