Generator voltage drop

Old 06-06-16, 11:37 PM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Generator voltage drop

I'm new to this posting threads thing so forgive my ignorance please but I'm in a fix. We have an old Almand permanent magnet 4.8 kw slow speed generator with a 2 cyl. Lister air cooled diesel engine. We use it about 3 months out of the year 24/7 running a 1 & 1/2 h.p. submersible pump. Last year it spit out the bearings on the back end of the generator and from the smell of things, fried the windings. I took it to a shop (4 hrs. away) and they machined in a new bearing cup and re-wound it. 6 weeks ago I set it up for a test run. It would start the pump but in a few minutes it would kick the reset on the pump control box. Had a well guy come out and checked the pump & wiring and although the pump was pulling higher amps (worn pump maybe) it was within range and ran fine using a different generator. I took the generator back to the repair shop. They bumped up the hertz to 62 and said it works. I brought it back on site but still the same problem. The generator running with no load shows on my Radio Shack voltmeter 230v. I tried the generator on a 5 h.p. motor running a hydraulic pump and it would start & run it (showing 213 v. on my voltmeter) but would drop to 90 v. as soon as I touched a hydraulic lever. There is no rpm gauge on the engine but it would lug down and smoke but I expected that knowing that 5 hp motor is too much for a 4.8 KW generator. (The generator running with no load shows on my Radio Shack voltmeter 230v.) I pulled the pump out of the well (big job pulling 300 ft. of 2 in. pipe) and built a test barrel and took the generator and pump to the repair shop and told them to fix it so it all worked! They called me Friday evening and said they give up, come get it and never bring it back. I contacted Almond (they don't make generators any more) and talked to a guy that had been with them 35 yrs. and he was kind enough to dig out a service ma