Sub Panel sharing ground with Electrical Fence charger


  #1  
Old 06-15-16, 07:51 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Sub Panel sharing ground with Electrical Fence charger

I have an electric fence charger in my barn, and it's grounding system has two 8' grounding rods driven deep into the ground. I am installing a subpanel in that same barn, and I want to make sure there are no issues with tapping into that grounding system for my Sub-panel. Can I just run a wire from my grounding bar in the sub-panel and clamp it/tie it into the grounding rod system?

PS: the barn is a separate building from my main panel (if that wasn't already apparent)
 
  #2  
Old 06-15-16, 08:00 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,941
Received 45 Votes on 43 Posts
Any fence charger I've used says to have a separate earth ground system from the building electrical.
 
  #3  
Old 06-15-16, 09:45 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I do have to ground the sub panel, using a grounding rod at the new location, correct? The ground and neutral wires are separate all the way back to the main panel
 
  #4  
Old 06-15-16, 10:21 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,295
Received 319 Votes on 285 Posts
I do have to ground the sub panel, using a grounding rod at the new location, correct?
Yes, because it's a subpanel in a separate structure, you do need to have at least one 8' ground rod.

I don't know much about electric fences, so I'll leave that question to others.

-Mike
 
  #5  
Old 06-15-16, 01:01 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,941
Received 45 Votes on 43 Posts
Yes the panel needs an earth ground -- at least one 8' ground rod.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: