Fixing breaker overload


  #1  
Old 06-28-16, 01:27 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Fixing breaker overload

Hello.
I have a code violation/ breaker overload I would like to fix.
It is a 15amp (120V) breaker, it serves:
half of the basement, and plug inside a kitchen cabinet; 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, 1 small living room, 1 fridge (6A), microwave (1200W;10A, located in kitchen cabinet).
What would be the easiest way to fix it to be a little bit more compliant to code?
 
  #2  
Old 06-28-16, 01:33 PM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,220
Received 1,291 Upvotes on 1,228 Posts
Let's start with how much room do you have in the circuit panel?
 
  #3  
Old 06-28-16, 01:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,993
Received 4,154 Upvotes on 3,730 Posts
After determining available space..... the first most logical step is to get the microwave on a new circuit. Try separating the kitchen from the other rooms.
 
  #4  
Old 06-28-16, 04:38 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I have a lot of breaker slots available.
I have a 40 slot panel at 150amps.
Alright I will try to isolate the microwave first.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: