Problems with GFCI outlet and washer/dryer

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-23-16, 12:32 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Problems with GFCI outlet and washer/dryer

Hello,

Today I went to do a load of laundry and my washer/dryer (Whirpool ThinTwin) wouldn't turn on. Checked the outlet and the GFCI was tripped. Plugged the W/D into a surge protector and plugged that into a nearby nonGFCI outlet (the W/D's cord is too short to reach) and the washer works.

I have tested other two prong and three prong devices into said GFCI outlet and they do not trip. Tried plugging W/D into surge protector and then GFCI outlet and it still trips.

Anyone have any advice?

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-23-16, 02:13 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
I would replace the GCFI first, they do go bad. Have had washer trip them even when no problem with washer.
 
  #3  
Old 07-23-16, 02:29 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I had the same problem and changing out the GFCI fixed it. The washer would work with one brand of GFCI and not another. Specifically, it wouldn't work with a SmartLock Pro, which is a very good GFCI receptacle.
From my understanding, the washer motor can leak voltage and this is "normal".
 
  #4  
Old 07-23-16, 04:31 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,150
Received 87 Votes on 74 Posts
Motor leakage is controlled by the UL standard. Sounds like some of the motors are out of spec .
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: