Help! Already fried my occupancy sensor!!

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-29-16, 01:24 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help! Already fried my occupancy sensor!!

Hello Experts - I tried to replace this switch with an accessory switch to my occupancy sensor. Tried everything and then made the mistake of placing the neutral on brass of my accessory switch and fried the occupancy sensor. Any ideas what to do here? The piggy-tailed white/black of this is throwing me off too. My accessory switch has a blue, black, and brass screw. No neutral. Please help me rig it up before a blow out another $40 switch

Name:  IMG_0889[1].jpg
Views: 211
Size:  34.8 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-29-16, 01:32 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
Connecting a white and black wire in a switch box is almost certainly wrong. A white wire on a switch is likely to be wrong. Please show/tell us all of the cables in this box and in the light box.
 
  #3  
Old 07-29-16, 01:41 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will try and get another picture up soon but the picture placed here is how this was installed by electrician as far as I'm aware ... not something I did here. I just replaced the original to reset it for this group to see.
 
  #4  
Old 07-29-16, 08:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,141
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
You have a white and black wire connected with a yellow jumper to the switch.
Then you have a single white wire to the switch.
Certainly not "code like" wiring.

It was EXACTLY like seen in the picture ?
I wouldn't rehire that electrician.
 
  #5  
Old 08-01-16, 06:55 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the responses. I've added a couple new photos here. Ultimately, there are three wire lines here (5 actually but 2 are for another switch). Not sure which one goes to the occupancy sensor, I was thinking it was the white common that is piggy-tailed though. Please help me understand how this should be correctly configured on this Lutron accessory switch http://www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocum...0865_MA-AS.pdf.

Name:  IMG_0897[1].jpg
Views: 177
Size:  33.2 KBName:  IMG_0898[1].jpg
Views: 183
Size:  41.3 KB
 
  #6  
Old 08-03-16, 05:50 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Resolved

Thanks for everyone's help and comments. I did fix this and have posted photos for anyone else who may encounter this issue. First thing I did was to remove the black/white piggy-tail, although I believe the white was being used as a traveler in that case.

Name:  Dining Room Accessory Switch 1.jpg
Views: 77
Size:  26.4 KBName:  Dining Room Accessory Switch 2.jpg
Views: 175
Size:  32.7 KBName:  Dining Room Accessory Switch 3.jpg
Views: 159
Size:  28.6 KBName:  Dining Room Occupancy 1.jpg
Views: 197
Size:  22.7 KBName:  Dining Room Occupancy 2.jpg
Views: 170
Size:  31.9 KBName:  Dining Room Occupancy 3.jpg
Views: 184
Size:  24.2 KB
 
  #7  
Old 08-03-16, 10:49 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Thank you for letting us know how it worked out.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: