Remove 3-way switch to allow installation of outlet?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-28-16, 07:48 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Remove 3-way switch to allow installation of outlet?

My house has a 3-way switch pair that we do not need. What we DO need is an electrical outlet on the wall where one of the 3-way switches is located.

This is the situation in a nutshell:



Power from the panel goes to the switch on the left in the photo. The switch on the right is on the wall that needs the outlet. The ceiling fan (now controlled by remote) is the load.

Here's a graphic of what we currently have (I think) and what I thought it might be possible to do:



Essentially, I'd be using the unneeded red traveler as the neutral for my proposed new outlet and share the hot going into the switch on the right hand wall.

Apart from the incorrect color of the neutral, is there any reason why this wouldn't work?

All suggestions/observations appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-28-16, 08:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,838
Received 1,199 Votes on 1,109 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The power comes in the left switch.
There is a three wire cable between the switches.
There is a two wire cable from the right switch to the fan.
That would mean there would be a two wire and a three wire cable at the right box.
Do I have that correct ?

===================================================
OR...
Does the power come in at the left switch.
A three wire cable to the light.
Another three wire cable from light to the right switch.
That would mean only a three wire cable at the right switch.
===================================================

We need to know which wiring method was used. Either way... you have enough conductors to do what you want. Let us know.... we'll give you a diagram.
 
  #3  
Old 08-28-16, 09:35 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
This is PJ's first suggestion:

Name:  3-way_PWR-SW-1R.jpg
Views: 2971
Size:  17.2 KB

Here are two other ways:

Name:  3-way_with_load.jpg
Views: 5500
Size:  28.1 KB

Name:  3-way-load_Switch-Loop.jpg
Views: 6305
Size:  39.2 KB

Note: You can not use a non contact tester to determine where power comes in. If you used one you don't really know and that could confuse how it is wired.
 
  #4  
Old 08-29-16, 05:32 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,173
Received 91 Votes on 84 Posts
You may not use a colored (here, red) wire (smaller than 4 gauge) as a neutral even if you put white tape around each end.

You might be able to swap the wires (label each wire end before disconnecting it) so the white down to the second switch location is used as the neutral for the new receptacle.

<-- Wilbur
I would rather not first bark up three or four trees (write multiple paragraphs each starting with "If" and/or containing different blue links and/or separated with "OR...") so I will wait for you to do the investigation so you can replace "(I think)"with "(I know)" before I say (write; type; bark) anything more.
 

Last edited by AllanJ; 08-29-16 at 05:49 AM.
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: