How do I wire this motor for use in 110, 25A?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-12-16, 07:42 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question How do I wire this motor for use in 110, 25A?

I pulled this motor off an old treadmill without paying attention to the wiring. Now I think this could make a decent bench grinder for sharpening tools, but I cannot figure out how to wire it for 110v, 25A. It has one red, one black and two blue wires. Please see the photo. [ATTACH]70811 Of course the cord I want to wire it with has a black, a white and a green wire. Can anyone advise me?
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-12-16, 07:54 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Nominal residential voltage is 120v not 110v. Most treadmill motors are DC. Please give us a clear picture straight on of the label and we can tell you for sure.
 
  #3  
Old 09-12-16, 07:57 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,667
Received 223 Votes on 196 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

I can't see the label very well but I think it says it is a DC (Direct Current) motor. You cannot connect this motor directly to house hold 120 volts AC. It needs the power supply that was also in the treadmill.
 
  #4  
Old 09-12-16, 10:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,819
Received 1,197 Votes on 1,107 Posts
The red and black wires are the DC input and the two blues wires are for the servo that tells the treadmill electronics how fast the motor is turning.

That's going to be a high current DC motor. Probably not going to be cost effective for grinder use.
 
  #5  
Old 09-12-16, 10:20 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, Tolyn - happy to be here. You and ray2047 are both right. The motor is DC, so it can't be connected directly. The power supply is what went on the treadmill, so I no longer have it.Any suggestions as to what type of supply I could use.

Here is the info from the label:

PM DC motor model C3362B2878
KEYS P/N 12-0025 3.0 PHP
11.8 AMPS 3990 RPM CCW Rotation
Ins. Class F 25C Ambient
Open Const external fan
1.25 HP cont. @ 100 UDC

And of course my voltage here is 120. A typo; I'll be more careful in the future.
 
  #6  
Old 09-12-16, 11:42 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,819
Received 1,197 Votes on 1,107 Posts
1.25 HP cont. @ 100 UDC
Is that supposed to be 100 VDC ?
 
  #7  
Old 09-12-16, 11:56 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A second look makes me think you are right, but the narrowing at the bottom of the letter is very slight!
 
  #8  
Old 09-13-16, 05:01 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,509
Received 86 Votes on 74 Posts
100V DC 12+A power supply will be needed to make it work. But, they don't come cheap. Probably few hundreds bucks.

You are better off buying a bench grinder. They are very cheap.
 
  #9  
Old 09-13-16, 10:08 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
lambition -

Okay, that's what I'll do. Any suggestions as to how I could use the motor in a DC environment? I just hate to trash a good motor.
 
  #10  
Old 09-13-16, 10:33 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Any use is the problem of powering it.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 09-13-16 at 11:37 PM. Reason: typo
  #11  
Old 09-13-16, 11:39 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,819
Received 1,197 Votes on 1,107 Posts
You could run it with 8) 12v batteries in series.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 09-13-16 at 11:48 PM. Reason: Typo: will>with
  #12  
Old 09-14-16, 09:13 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 110
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Beware of what you take out of a treadmill.

I have repaired several treadmills.

One treadmill I serviced was brand new, and the complaint was that the belt was moving in the wrong direction.

Upon investigation, I discovered that the motor used three-phase 240 V power. The electrician who wired the outlet had the phases connected in the wrong order.

There is no easy way to use such a motor for other applications.
 
  #13  
Old 09-14-16, 12:49 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the advice. It has gone to the dumpster. I don't need the hassle or the headache.

Thanks to everyone.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: