NEC and Ty-Raps


  #1  
Old 09-20-16, 09:07 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
NEC and Ty-Raps

Does the NEC allow the use of Ty-Raps to bundle Romex cables for neatness?
 
  #2  
Old 09-21-16, 03:17 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
No prohibition, but remember cables must be secured to framing 8" from a box and every 4 1/2' thereafter, so if bundled, you need to figure a way to do that securely without over crowding the clamp. There are wire or cable looms that attach to the studs that will allow the cables to be "loomed" in a neat fashion, but I just can't find a picture or link right now. 3M calls them Stak-its.

Bundling cables can cause ampacity adjustment issues. How many cables are you thinking about bundling?
 

Last edited by pcboss; 09-21-16 at 05:46 PM. Reason: 4 1/2' was 3', added note
  #3  
Old 09-21-16, 06:01 AM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,179
Received 173 Upvotes on 141 Posts
I think this is what Larry is referring to:

Name:  IDL_BPSTCKR-15-orig.jpg
Views: 103
Size:  21.8 KB

Keep in mind that if you bundle multiple romex tightly together for more than a foot or two you have to derate the cable ampacity. That's why the stackers space the cables apart somewhat.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: