Pool Subpanel


  #1  
Old 10-04-16, 10:01 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Pool Subpanel

Hey guys,

I've been searching the internet trying to make sure I add this subpanel correctly. Here is my current setup.

400A Service panel with a total of 4 fused feeds. I currently have two 200A connected to subpanels in my house, but not even using close to that.

My goal is to run conduit to a new subpanel by the pool from the service panel. This panel would be about 6' from the edge of the pool and separated by a 4' pony wall. From what I can tell I need about 55A but want to overengineer it to 100A.

My questions are...
What are the distances and height requirements for the panel from the pool?
What are the needed copper lines to feed the sub panel?
What is the minimum conduit needed for this?

My game plan right now is to run something like 2 1/2-3" conduit although I think 1 1/2" is all I need. I plan to run #3/3 for 2 conductor and a neutral and some sort of insulated ground. I think that if I bond my subpanel to the main panel I need to separate my neutral and ground bus in the subpanel. Please enlighten me.

Thanks in advance.

-Dustin
 
  #2  
Old 10-05-16, 01:00 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,941
Likes: 0
Received 45 Likes on 43 Posts
Hi Dustin,

The distance requirement is 10' from the rim of the pool, unless separated by a permanent barrier. Your local inspector will have to determine if the 4' pony wall is adequate to meet the separation requirement. Height is anything less than 6'-7" from grade.

For a 100A panel, use individual conductor THWN wire #3 for the two hots and neutral, #8 insulated green for the ground. A cable assembly is not appropriate for a pool panel. Conduit size 1.5" would be plenty, assuming you use PVC burial depth is 18" minimum.

All subpanels must have separated ground and neutral buses. You'll also need to install a ground rod at the pool equipment pedestal and bond that to the subpanel ground bus. The pool additionally has significant bonding requirements and various other requirements for connecting to the pool equipment.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 10-05-16 at 04:51 PM. Reason: THHN>THWN
  #3  
Old 10-06-16, 02:05 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks ibpooks,

Thanks for the info. So even though there will be a insulated ground connecting my subpanel and the main service panel I would still need a grounding rod at the pool site?
 
  #4  
Old 10-06-16, 02:11 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,941
Likes: 0
Received 45 Likes on 43 Posts
Yes, they serve a different purpose. The equipment ground (ground wire between panels) is to allow the main breaker to trip if there is a fault in the feeder or subpanel. The grounding electrode (earth ground) is to provide a reference ground and to equalize atmospheric charges from lightning storms. Since your subpanel is outside of the house foundation, it needs its own earth ground.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: