Light switch trouble

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-22-16, 04:10 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Light switch trouble

Hi.. needing some help here, please..

I have 4 switches in my bathroom. In order from left to right in the picture..
(1) Fan
(2) Overheat heat lamp
(3) Sink/main light
(4) Shower light


The switch for (3) broke and I changed it out. Seemed simple enough. Previously all 4 switches worked independently. I could have any light on by itself. Now, light (3) MUST be ON for any of the others to work. I was fairly certain I wired the switch exactly as it was. Did I maybe use the wrong type switch? I have no idea if it was a single pole or other. I just chose one not realizing there was a difference. How can I tell the difference by looking at the switch? I actually did this months ago and threw out the old switch.

Thank you!
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-22-16, 06:26 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,991
Received 682 Votes on 629 Posts
It sounds like you got something loose when installing the new switch. Was there a wire nut inside the box that had multiple black wires? If so I'd check to make sure all those wires and the nut are tight and secure. Likely there is one wire carrying the current/hot that is loose or not connected and when you fix that everything will work again.
 
  #3  
Old 10-22-16, 06:51 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I could have any light on by itself. Now, light (3) MUST be ON for any of the others to work
Not a loose wire. I'd be willing to bet you had a back stabbed wire on the old switch and you didn't pare it with the same wire that was on the screw of that terminal. One of those wires was the hot in and the other hot out.

Please open the switch box with the new switch, pull the switches out and make pictures of the wires and and their connections. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...rt-images.html
 
  #4  
Old 10-24-16, 07:11 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  3b.jpg
Views: 173
Size:  32.3 KBName:  3d.jpg
Views: 183
Size:  25.7 KBName:  3e.jpg
Views: 168
Size:  30.3 KB
The switch on the left is the one in question. Thank you.
 
  #5  
Old 10-24-16, 07:19 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The looped black is probable the hot in. Probably the wires you back stabbed are reversed. Back stabs are unreliable. Use pigtails instead. I'll be back later with more instructions.

Name:  G.jpg
Views: 169
Size:  37.2 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 10-24-16 at 07:59 PM.
  #6  
Old 10-30-16, 07:22 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Apparently the wires were reversed like you said. I swapped them and it works properly now! Thank you for all the help.
 
  #7  
Old 10-30-16, 08:37 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Glad you got it. Thanks for letting us know.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: