Running 240 volt dryer line


  #1  
Old 11-26-16, 11:28 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 1,291
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Running 240 volt dryer line

I want to run a 240 volt dryer line and was wondering if i have enough spare power to run a electric dryer. I live in a trailer(i own it) i have a 50 amp circuit at the meter outside that feeds a 40 amp breaker inside that feeds the panel. In the outside box their is also a 30 amp breaker which powers the electric water heater. In the inside panel i have a dedicated circuit for the furnace so in total on the inside breaker are 4 20 amps and 5 15 amps which run standard household stuff like flatscreens window a/cs in summer standard stuff.
 
  #2  
Old 11-26-16, 11:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,983 Upvotes on 3,575 Posts
Enough spare power where..... at the outside panel ?
What is the main breaker size outside..... usually 100A.... or isn't there one ?

It sounds like the inside panel is limited to 40A and may be borderline for the dryer.
Do you have the space in the outside panel ?
 
  #3  
Old 11-27-16, 01:18 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 1,291
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
The outside breaker is 50 amp with a 30 amp for the 240 water heater and the inside is 40 amp for everything else.

Name:  20161127_160637.jpg
Views: 285
Size:  48.9 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 11-27-16 at 01:22 PM. Reason: reoriented picture
  #4  
Old 11-27-16, 01:24 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,983 Upvotes on 3,575 Posts
Hmmmm..... no room in the outside panel.

Is there space for an additional two pole breaker in the inside panel ?
I'm guessing gas heating and cooking ?
 
  #5  
Old 11-27-16, 01:51 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,340
Received 878 Upvotes on 741 Posts
That wire on the 2 pole 30a breaker is too small. It should be #10 wire. If your water heater is small-ish it might only need a 20 amp circuit and you could change the breaker to a 20 amp 2 pole.

Based on the wire feeding your outside panel it appears it would be about a 100 amp feed. Is your trailer an RV type trailer or a Mobile home type trailer?

Your model number of the panel might tell us if the panel can take tandem breakers. You could get a two pole 30/50, 30/20, 30/30 breaker depending on what your water heater is, etc.
 
  #6  
Old 11-27-16, 05:17 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 1,291
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
OK the main panel disconnect box on the inside is rated at 50 amps max so that would need to be upgraded to at least 75 amps if the breaker outside can be upgraded to 100 amps. The wires going into the inside panel from the inside disconnect panel would need to be upgraded though. I noticed that the neutral wire from the line coming into the panel was cut too short and they attached it to a neutral screw on the neutral bar instead of the neutral bar lug so that would need to wire nutted longer. The main inside panel is model hom612L100s and is rated at 100amps max unless it has a neutral lug kit installed then its 70amps but from what I can see everything is factory and is rated for 75 degree C copper or alum wires. Here is a pic of the main disconnect on the inside. it would need to be replaced. This is a mobile home type trailer not a RV type. EDIT I don't know why it's posting sideways. it shows up on my computer as normal but when I upload on here it posts sideways.

Name:  20161127_194519.jpg
Views: 264
Size:  26.1 KB
 
  #7  
Old 11-27-16, 06:55 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,340
Received 878 Upvotes on 741 Posts
I'm not 100% sure, but I think the rules of one feed to a structure may apply to mobile home as well. Your water heater would be in violation of this if it is inside the home.

I think your best bet would be to replace the outdoor panel so you can get a 100 amp feed. Replace the current feeder cord to a "real" 100amp feed, and replace the current disconnect with another panel. Your current panel inside can stay as is, you would just install a 40 amp breaker in the new panel.

Is your range electric gas or electric?
 
  #8  
Old 11-27-16, 07:17 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 1,291
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Range is gas. The water heater is inside. Ill have a electrician replace the outside panel or bypass it all together and redo the water heater so its fed from the outside panel and replace the inside disconnect box with a 100amp one.
 
  #9  
Old 11-28-16, 07:03 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,340
Received 878 Upvotes on 741 Posts
By code, you need to have a disconnect outside not connected to the mobile home.

You could leave the outdoor panel, install a new 100 amp breaker, and feed a new 100 amp panel that replaces your inside disconnect you posted a picture of. Then feed the water heater off that new panel and feed your existing inside panel with a 40 or 50 amp breaker, whatever size wire you have. That should save you a bit of money.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: