TV's keep breaking in the same room

Old 12-02-16, 03:49 PM
A
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Exclamation TV's keep breaking in the same room

My aunt asked me to fix a TV which I have limited experience in because I have an electronics repair company that mostly fixes computers and phones. After fixing the TV by replacing a few capacitors and the main board she connected another TV in the same spot which also broke. In a brilliant move she connected the previously fixed TV to the outlet in question and that also broke.
I have to conclude that there is something wrong with that outlet. But it only breaks tvs. The TVS were not even connected directly to the wall but to a surge protector strip every time. There is a computer, a blu ray player, and a stereo connected to the same strip and none of them has had any problem, except perhaps about 3 years ago a computer which lost a power supply. So the whole situation strikes me as odd. I tested the outlet and it was giving out 123 AC volts. Well within normal.
What I need is a list of possible causes to this problem and if there is some way that I can fix this on my own or whether I need an electrician with specialized equipment to diagnose and fix the problem.
I will fix the 2 broken TVs but I don't want to connect anything to that outlet until the problem is fixed.
Please help. THANK YOU.
Al From Miami.

Old 12-02-16, 03:52 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Welcome to the forums! You didn't indicate the age of the tv's in question. TV's go bad and it could be due to their age more than any perceived electrical problem. If you fix them, try running them in different rooms just for grins. If they survive for a week, take them back to the original room to see what happens.

Old 12-02-16, 04:14 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,951 Upvotes on 3,544 Posts