GFI receptacle without a ground

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-10-16, 10:07 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GFI receptacle without a ground

"A GFCI will work and provide protection without a ground. The ground wire does not enter into GFCI protection in any way. An external GFCI tester needs a ground to work properly, but that is a different issue."

The above is a quote from another thread that goes along with what I already thought. If I install GFCI's without an equipment ground (the wires run through glazed tile bricks all aver the building and installing ground wires would be very difficult), a tester would read open ground and an external GFCI tester would not work, but the internal tester would work if everything else was right...right?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-10-16, 11:02 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Installing a GFCI does not give you a ground. The GFCI must be labeled No Ground. It just increases personal safety. If you have a device such as a surge protector it will not provide the ground needed for the surge protector to work. Basically the real reason they are used is to have a hole for the round pin on a three prong plug.
 
  #3  
Old 12-10-16, 12:14 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I pretty much understood that (except for the surge protector) but what I was wanting to verify is the results of using a external tester in this situation. It will read open ground, the external tester will not trip the GFCI, but the internal tester will. This is not an ideal situation, but acceptable...right?
 
  #4  
Old 12-10-16, 01:03 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Yes the plug-in testers won't trip it and might show a hot neutral reverse or some other spurious result. The self test on the GFCI receptacle should work.
This is not an ideal situation, but acceptable...right?
Under the NEC yes but local code may vary.
 
  #5  
Old 12-10-16, 01:06 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,151
Received 87 Votes on 74 Posts
The only recognized test is using the internal trip button.

As you found out the 3 light tester does not work on an ungrounded gfi. The gfi will still function as designed.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: