Unused electrical boxes


  #1  
Old 12-25-16, 10:55 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: US
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unused electrical boxes

The garage of house I just moved into has a number of electrical boxes with standard hot/neutral/ground wires, and solid cover plates over them. Is there any reason not to install receptacles so I can use them? Why might these have been installed with solid cover plates?

Thanks,
Matt

Name:  IMG_2549.jpg
Views: 205
Size:  21.7 KBName:  IMG_2548.jpg
Views: 218
Size:  26.2 KB
 
  #2  
Old 12-25-16, 11:26 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It looks like the box was used as a junction box only, no idea why someone wouldn't install a receptacle.
The garage requires GFCI receptacles.
Maybe the previous person didn't know what to do with 3 wires, which is to connect them as pictured with a single pigtail to the receptacle terminals.
 
  #3  
Old 12-26-16, 12:39 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: US
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, thanks for the note about gfci. I didn't realize that since the other garage outlets aren't.

On your second note, two wires use the receptacle as a pass-thru, where 3 wires keep 2 twisted for the pass-thru and the third goes to the receptacle, correct?

Thanks,
Matt
 
  #4  
Old 12-26-16, 01:07 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not correct.
If there are only two cables in a box (2 hot/2 neutral wires), you can use the receptacle terminals to continue power downstream.
If there are three or more cables, You connect ALL the neutral wires with a wire nut with a single pigtail to the receptacle. Same for hot, only one terminal will be used.

A safety note: If you run into any 3-conductor cable; a black, red, white and ground. Post back.
You may or may not have this cable in the garage, but precautions must be taken if you do.
 
  #5  
Old 12-26-16, 02:52 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 8 Votes on 7 Posts
In addition, you only need a GFCI on the first receptacle, wiring the downline receptacles on the LOAD side of the GFCI. That will protect all the receptacles.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: