Abandoned Phone Jack?


  #1  
Old 12-29-16, 11:45 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Abandoned Phone Jack?

Name:  PhoneJack.jpg
Views: 1424
Size:  29.1 KB
I'm not sure what this is but think it's an abandoned phone jack. That hole in the front goes all the way through, which seems bizzare. The white wire is just dangling from the wall. I want to cap each wire, shove them in the hole and cover it. Any comments or suggestions?
I can easily cut the power, but phone jacks have their own power. It's probably off as their is no active service and probably too low a volt/wattage to have much concern...or am I wrong?Name:  Phone2.jpg
Views: 1549
Size:  19.8 KB
 
  #2  
Old 12-29-16, 01:08 PM
E
Member
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 135
Upvotes: 0
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
It doesn't look like any phone jack that I've ever seen.
It is possibly an old speaker jack?
 
  #3  
Old 12-29-16, 01:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,924
Received 4,138 Upvotes on 3,716 Posts
That is a phone connection point but not a jack. The cord from the phone would be sent into the hole and the wires would be attached on the backside.

That connection style was used before the four pin jack became popular.

You can remove the wires from the point, tape them good and push it into the wall.
 
  #4  
Old 12-29-16, 02:31 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,807
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
and probably too low a volt/wattage to have much concern...or am I wrong?
My understanding is a phone line can shock you if ringing, maybe someone can confirm.

I take the phone off the hook until you lose dial tone, that keeps the phone from ringing until repairs are made.
 
  #5  
Old 12-29-16, 03:13 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10,970
Received 729 Upvotes on 644 Posts
If that's from an abandoned landline, I would make sure the landline feed from the outside is disconnected.
 
  #6  
Old 12-29-16, 11:19 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Great answer. I did just that. Now I need to find a round cover that fits so I don't have to repair the drywall.
 
  #7  
Old 12-29-16, 11:46 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 1,257
Received 213 Upvotes on 187 Posts
Agree with PJmax. Looks like a 47F or 47E Block (shown below with a "old-work" bracket). The 47E provided 12 connections while the 47F provided only 4. The 47 series blocks was a in-wall version of the ubiquitous 42A block. The 47 series could also be used with standard electrical boxes and nail-on prewire brackets.
Name:  47E Connecting Block.jpg
Views: 1090
Size:  16.4 KBName:  42A Connecting Block.png
Views: 1317
Size:  104.5 KB

Cover is a P-88C9XX series (Bell number) and was designed to mount to a bracket; not a standard electrical box. There is a single round-hole electrical outlet cover that may work, but the Bell System was not known for using anything standard. Covers similar to the one pictured below should be readily available.
[ATTACH=CONFIG]75004[/ATTACH]
 
Attached Images  
  #8  
Old 12-30-16, 12:06 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 19,281
Received 8 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Brian, heck yeah you get a voltage when it rings. 75-90 VAC is normal. It rides on the -48 VDC that's there when the phone is idle. I imagine that powers the dial tone and lighted buttons.
 
  #9  
Old 12-31-16, 04:53 PM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,166
Received 432 Upvotes on 384 Posts
Since it's low voltage, I agree, you just need to tape the wires separately and shove them back into the wall. If you don't want to patch the drywall, you can simply screw a blank cover plate over it.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]75098[/ATTACH]
 
Attached Images  
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: