How to wire a light switch... Is this a neutral?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-01-17, 11:58 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to wire a light switch... Is this a neutral?

I have a light switch I am going to install. It is a Z-Wave switch. This switch is the middle of a 3-Way. According to the picture is the white wire a neutral that is not wired to the switch that is wire nuted?
Name:  IMG_3542.jpg
Views: 270
Size:  24.5 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-01-17, 12:40 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,668
Received 223 Votes on 196 Posts
Yes, the white wire is likely a neutral. I would suggest checking it with a meter first before assuming.

That switch appears to be a 4 way switch. The Z-Wave switch should be able to function as a 4 way switch
 
  #3  
Old 01-01-17, 03:30 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,890
Received 81 Votes on 76 Posts
If that switch is between 3 way's then it is a 4 way and the whites wirenutted together are probably the point connection and not neutral,new code would require them to be reidentified.
 
  #4  
Old 01-01-17, 03:39 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Check the whites, but I can't make out what the circled wires are. Do they emanate from white casings? Difficult to see.

Name:  4w.jpg
Views: 227
Size:  44.3 KB
 
  #5  
Old 01-01-17, 04:05 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,668
Received 223 Votes on 196 Posts
Chandler, that is the grounds just twisted together with no wire nut, I think.
 
  #6  
Old 01-01-17, 04:11 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
I agree, but am confused by the short white wire casing.
 
  #7  
Old 01-01-17, 05:22 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,175
Received 92 Votes on 79 Posts
Looks like the end of the grounds that just happen to line up with the neutrals underneath .
 
  #8  
Old 01-01-17, 07:39 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yeah, bare wires are grounds. So, how do I test these? Or how do I test to see what this white wire is?
And what so you mean by Point of Connection?
 
  #9  
Old 01-02-17, 04:42 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Ah, I see it better, now. I opened it on my Ipad and enlarged it. Test the resistance of the white wires under the cap to the grounding wires. You should get a reading. Do this with the power off to that circuit.
 
  #10  
Old 01-02-17, 06:03 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,890
Received 81 Votes on 76 Posts
If you pull the whites out and break the splice,measure between one white and ground and the other white and ground one will have 120 VAC proving it is the point not neutral,someone can correct me if I am wrong,I am figuring this out in my head.
HNY!
Geo
 
  #11  
Old 01-02-17, 07:33 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  IMG_3557.jpg
Views: 230
Size:  30.2 KBSo I measured both white wires separate to the ground bare wire. The right white one read 0.4. The left white one read 7.87. Not sure what this means. Another pict
 
  #12  
Old 01-02-17, 11:33 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,890
Received 81 Votes on 76 Posts
Did you check for voltage between white and ground?
 
  #13  
Old 01-02-17, 12:52 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
0.080 is the volts is what I came up with
 
  #14  
Old 01-02-17, 03:30 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,668
Received 223 Votes on 196 Posts
I wouldn't have recommended opening the neutral. It will only show 120 volts is there is a load on the circuit, (IE the switch is on)

Splice the white back up, and with the power on measure voltage between all the red and black wires. you should get 120 volts someplace. Then measure as Chandler suggested, between the whites and ground wires with your meter set to Ohms or continuity. You should get a very low number or read continuity.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: