Wiring a 12vdc amplifier to 110v line?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-07-17, 11:54 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring a 12vdc amplifier to 110v line?

I purchased an in-wall amplifier to power some speakers. It is 12v DC.

Link to item

For some inexplicable reason, they expect you to plug a power adapter into the front of it that you would plug into an outlet. However, it also has wires in the back to be hardwired. I want to hardwire it to a 110v line, but I'm not sure what equipment I need. A transformer I assume, but I haven't had a lot of luck looking online. I mostly just find lighting transformers. Are these the same thing?
 
  #2  
Old 01-08-17, 12:15 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,824
Received 1,330 Votes on 1,229 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Based on the current draw of that device I'd say the audio output power would be around 20watts.

If you search....... 12vdc 2A

You'd want it to be either regulated or a switching supply.

Here's one from amazon. Just cut the DC plug off.
amazon/Wall-Adapter-Power-Supply/dp/B00KZ2ZQE8
 
  #3  
Old 01-08-17, 08:16 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here's one from amazon. Just cut the DC plug off.
It came with one of those.

But if I cut off the DC plug, I'm still left with the 2-prong outlet end. How do I connect that up to the romex?
 

Last edited by Ken Masters; 01-08-17 at 08:32 AM.
  #4  
Old 01-08-17, 08:33 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Is there a closet near where you are putting the amplifier or an unfinished basement below? Put your power supply there and run power to the amp using #18 thermostat cable.
 
  #5  
Old 01-08-17, 08:50 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is in a detached, single-room shop I am building. The walls are still open.
 
  #6  
Old 01-08-17, 08:52 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Nothing says you can't bring the power cable out of the wall near a receptacle and plug in there. The alarm companies do that all the time. Or get fancy. Place a low voltage electric box next to the receptacle. Bring the power cable to the amp into the LV box. Bring the cable from the power supply into the LV box through a hole in a blank cover plate fastened to the LV box.

It can be done neater then below but it gives you the basic idea.

Name:  alarm-system-battery-025.jpg
Views: 71
Size:  13.7 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 01-08-17 at 09:32 AM.
  #7  
Old 01-08-17, 09:50 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm trying to avoid plugging it in at all, which kind of defeats the purpose of an in-wall plate.

Is it even possible to somehow connect it to the in-wall romex?? Keep everything in-wall/receptacle box?
 
  #8  
Old 01-08-17, 11:24 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,824
Received 1,330 Votes on 1,229 Posts
You can't put a power supply in the wall. That's why that plate has a place to plug in a wall wart.

You could mount a pro style power supply on the wall but they start at $100.
 
  #9  
Old 01-08-17, 11:51 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,513
Received 125 Votes on 99 Posts
You can install a small flush mount NEMA 1 box and place a transformer inside with the 120V connections. Then run the 12VDC line in the wall to where you need the 12V power. Or buy a Structured Media Enclosure and add an outlet to the enclosure for the wall wart.
 
  #10  
Old 01-08-17, 01:55 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's why that plate has a place to plug in a wall wart.
It also has wires coming out of the back for hard-wiring it, which is what I'm trying to figure out how to connect them to power.

You can install a small flush mount NEMA 1 box and place a transformer inside with the 120V connections. Then run the 12VDC line in the wall to where you need the 12V power. Or buy a Structured Media Enclosure and add an outlet to the enclosure for the wall wart.
Are transformers small enough to fit in one side of a 2-gang receptacle box? Do you have an example of what kind of transformer I would need?
 
  #11  
Old 01-08-17, 02:04 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,824
Received 1,330 Votes on 1,229 Posts
You need a complete 12VDC 2A power supply and I don't know of one that will fit in a single gang box.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: