Installing new light switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-14-17, 12:57 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installing new light switch

Greetings,

I'm installing a new switch but I'm a bit confused by the multiple black wires entering the old switch. I'm trying to install this new Honeywell programmable switch: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I'm adding some pics of what the old switch looks like...hopefully they show up. Thanks for any assistance.



 
  #2  
Old 01-14-17, 01:10 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,799
Received 252 Votes on 220 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

Keep the two wires circled in orange connected together with a wirenut and pigtail a short piece of wire from that wirenut to the new switch.

Name:  switch.jpg
Views: 242
Size:  24.9 KB
 
  #3  
Old 01-14-17, 01:32 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,221
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
What you have is power in and power out being effectively spliced at one end of the switch. The other end is the switched hot.
 
  #4  
Old 01-14-17, 02:30 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
In case you hadn't gleaned it from the previous replies it is best to not use the back stabs because they are less reliable and you can't put two wires under one screw so you need to pigtail the splice.
 
  #5  
Old 01-14-17, 03:07 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks everyone. I got the switch installed and it's working fine.
 
  #6  
Old 01-14-17, 04:52 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Thank you for letting us know. Good job.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: