Pizza oven wiring help

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-12-17, 05:20 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pizza oven wiring help

Hi!

A little help please. I have installed an electric pizza oven in my new home and my heat recovery time has slowed drastically from my previous home. I am unsure of the wiring sizes of the previous home. The oven is 220/240v 3600 watts. I have installed a 50 amp dual breaker and run 10 ga wire appx 9 feet. Does this affect heat recovery? Is there a better way (different breaker or wire size) to increase the rate of recovery. Thanks. Dflip
 
  #2  
Old 02-12-17, 05:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,398
Received 1,399 Votes on 1,296 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Are you sure you didn't wire the unit for 120vac ?
Is 220/240v @ 3600 watts correct ?

3600 watts at 240v is 15A. That means you could have used #12 wiring BUT with either size wiring..... it needs to be on a 2P 20A breaker.... not a 2P50A breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 02-12-17, 05:35 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hello. thanks for the reply. 220/240v 3600 watts is correct. would swapping the 2p50a breaker to the 2p 20amp breaker speed up recovery time?
 
  #4  
Old 02-12-17, 05:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,398
Received 1,399 Votes on 1,296 Posts
No..... but using the 50A breaker is very unsafe in case of a short circuit.
 
  #5  
Old 02-12-17, 05:41 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
Are you in an older single family home, condo or apartment? If so, there is a slight possibility that you do not have 240 volts service but 208 volts. This would definitely reduce the heating ability of the oven.

The 50 ampere circuit breaker needs to be replaced with a 20 ampere unit to offer some protection to the oven.
 
  #6  
Old 02-12-17, 06:00 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
okay. i will get the breaker swapped out to 20 amps. It is an old home built in 1930 so completely possible and I have no idea on how to check. so the recovery time is affected by the 208v?
 
  #7  
Old 02-12-17, 06:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,398
Received 1,399 Votes on 1,296 Posts
If you're in a home then you should have 120/240v service.

You ran the new cable yourself ?
Did you connect both wires.... white and black ..... to the 2P breaker ?
 

Last edited by PJmax; 02-12-17 at 06:47 PM.
  #8  
Old 02-12-17, 06:36 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
should have or would have? Is it conceivable to have only the 208? Thanks.
 
  #9  
Old 02-12-17, 06:43 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Is it conceivable to have only the 208? Thanks.
I did work in a seven figure three story house with an elevator that was 3 phase but unless that describes yours unlikely.
 
  #10  
Old 02-12-17, 06:59 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,178
Received 47 Votes on 45 Posts
What is the make and model of your pizza oven?
You say this is in a house right?

When you say recovery what exactly do you mean?
Is it that you are cooking as many pizzas as will fit in the oven and when cooked the oven will not be at the correct temperature to start another batch?
 
  #11  
Old 02-12-17, 07:11 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
p44s bakers pride. countertop model in my house. when the oven was hooked up in my apt, i would plug it into the existing oven outlet. you are correct, it would recover very quickly back up to 550 deg from pizza to pizza. now, it takes much longer to get back up to temp after removing pizzas.
 
  #12  
Old 02-12-17, 07:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,398
Received 1,399 Votes on 1,296 Posts
The p44S is a double oven and you have it on your countertop at home ?
It also states requiring 3600w per oven or 7200w total.

bakers pride/specs/hearthbake/hb_p44s_p44bl.pdf

It really sounds like you are not giving the unit 240v.
 
  #13  
Old 02-12-17, 07:18 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
sorry p22s. single chamber, 2 decks.
 
  #14  
Old 02-12-17, 07:19 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Have you checked the receptacle with a multimeter?
 
  #15  
Old 02-12-17, 07:24 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  oven.jpg
Views: 513
Size:  34.6 KB

i checked the outlet and the elements with a multimeter. all is good to go.
 
  #16  
Old 02-12-17, 07:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,398
Received 1,399 Votes on 1,296 Posts
i checked the outlet and the elements with a multimeter. all is good to go.
That doesn't leave much room for a problem.
 
  #17  
Old 02-12-17, 07:40 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,178
Received 47 Votes on 45 Posts
If you checked the voltage and have 240 volts available and that you have continuity on EACH element then the only other thing to check is that the thermostat is operating correctly.
 
  #18  
Old 02-13-17, 08:00 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,178
Received 47 Votes on 45 Posts
or that you are not exceeding the oven's capacity by cooking too many pizzas over an extended period of time.
 
  #19  
Old 02-13-17, 08:58 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,178
Received 47 Votes on 45 Posts
or that you are using frozen pizza dough which will also exceed capacity.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: