Bathroom light tripping GFCI in bathroom

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-22-17, 08:11 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bathroom light tripping GFCI in bathroom

I've been searching these boards for 3 days straight and I still can't find an answer.. And I'm about to pull my hair out!

I have a small half bathroom in my basement, toilet and small sink. Over the sink is a medicine style mirror with a 17" florescent light fixture over it. This past weekend the GFCI outlet, which feeds the light, tripped for reasons unknown to me. I naturally hit the test button 16 times with no success. So I killed the power and opened the wall box, switch box, and light fixture. It was set-up to protect the downstream devices (line AND load). I replaced the outlet and that didn't help so I pig-tailed everything together and attached everything to the line terminal and that brought everything back to normal.

However, I don't want to just leave it as is because there obviously is a problem. Without tearing off the paneling walls, I think the setup is: Source>GFCI>switch>light.... I pulled all wires off the devices and tested for power and GFCI line black wire was the only hot one...

Thank you in advance!

Name:  Outlet1.jpg
Views: 521
Size:  36.0 KB
Name:  Outlet2.jpg
Views: 357
Size:  46.5 KB
Name:  Outlet3.jpg
Views: 363
Size:  41.6 KB
Name:  Outlet4.jpg
Views: 497
Size:  38.7 KB
Name:  Outlet5.jpg
Views: 518
Size:  25.1 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-22-17, 08:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,746
Received 1,187 Votes on 1,098 Posts
Disconnect the light fixture. If the problem goes away it's a leaky ballast.

Normally..... fluorescent lighting is not put on a GFI receptacle and does not
need to be protected. You can leave it on the line side.
 
  #3  
Old 02-23-17, 04:20 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Does your GFCI have two holes per screw head on the back? If so, you can remove the crook connections, either straighten or shorten them to where they will fit the holes, and move the LOAD wires to the LINE holes, so all are on the LINE side. AFTER you do what Pete suggests by checking the light to see if it is the culprit.
 
  #4  
Old 02-23-17, 06:06 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the quick responses!

So if the outlet doesn't trip with the light not hooked up, we know that's the culprit? Is it common for the light/ballast to just go like that?
 
  #5  
Old 02-23-17, 08:03 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,312
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Try pressing the "Reset" button instead of the "Test" button!
 
  #6  
Old 02-23-17, 08:09 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I meant test! Good catch though.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: