Madison smartbox: personal experience with clamps??

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-24-17, 06:18 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Madison smartbox: personal experience with clamps??

Seriously, how do you use the clamps on these?
 
  #2  
Old 02-24-17, 06:35 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
What clamps are you talking about, Looks like plastic box.
 
  #3  
Old 02-24-17, 07:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,761
Received 1,321 Votes on 1,221 Posts
Are you talking about the smart box with the screw ears or the one with the adjustable depth mounting bracket?

Post a link to the one you're having trouble with.
 
  #4  
Old 02-25-17, 07:42 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Yeah, a specific link would help. Most Madison Smartboxes attach internally with angle screws into framing members, so I am not sure what "clamps" you are speaking of.
 
  #5  
Old 02-25-17, 08:06 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,740
Received 22 Votes on 21 Posts
Smart Box

I think the OP is referring to the cable clamps on the back edges of the box.
 
  #6  
Old 02-25-17, 10:51 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
If you are referring to the cable capture feature, the cables just push through. It is sort of like a one way street. You can push them through, but can't pull the back out.
 
  #7  
Old 02-25-17, 12:23 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
But the cable clamps seem to be all molded together.

You have to essentially create the cable clamp by jamming a screwdriver in there.

And then it remains jagged.

I don't know if I am doing this wrong.
 
  #8  
Old 02-25-17, 12:50 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
Sometimes you can just push wires through or sometimes I have to open with screwdriver.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: