Wiring non anchored chicken coop

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-06-17, 10:56 AM
D
DLH
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Allis, WI
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring non anchored chicken coop

My nephew wants me to wire his new chicken coop with a outlet plus a outdoor and a indoor light from a GFCI outlet located 15 ft away. The coop is 30 inches off the ground on 4x4 legs sitting on 12 inch paving blocks. It measures about 5 by 5 ft. Probably weights over 200 pounds. My question is this. Does the coop have to be anchored to the ground?

Don H
 
  #2  
Old 06-06-17, 11:40 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,548
Received 157 Votes on 139 Posts
From an electrical perspective, I don't know of any requirement for it to be anchored in any way.

How are you planning to wire it? I certainly wouldn't use rigid conduit to a movable structure since it would easily break... but there are a number of acceptable flexible solutions.
 
  #3  
Old 06-06-17, 12:02 PM
D
DLH
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Allis, WI
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was planning on using PVC and thwn. I'm going treat the whole project as a damp location with a weatherproof outlet and light switches on the inside. Even the lights will have tempered glass globes. Thought about using UF-B but since it was only 15 ft and would need conduit on each end I decided to use pipe all the way.

Don H
 
  #4  
Old 06-06-17, 12:11 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,829
Received 361 Votes on 318 Posts
Does the coop have to be anchored to the ground?
Probably not a requirement but dependent on how much wind he gets, might be a good idea.
 
  #5  
Old 06-06-17, 01:03 PM
D
DLH
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Allis, WI
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Didn't think about the wind. The coop is pretty heavy but you never know. Maybe I can talk him into bigger patio blocks or even concrete and then anchor the legs to that.

Don H
 
  #6  
Old 06-06-17, 02:32 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
I'd use liquidtight flex conduit to make the last few feet of the connection to the movable coop as it will shift around a little bit without a solid foundation. Don't use UF-B alone around animals and animal feed. Rodents will easily chew through it. You can use sch 40 rigid PVC conduit for the underground portion of the run.
 
  #7  
Old 06-06-17, 03:11 PM
D
DLH
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Allis, WI
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How does liquidtight flex conduit terminate. Does it require a box on each end? I'll do some research on it.

Don H
 
  #8  
Old 06-06-17, 03:29 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,152
Received 62 Votes on 54 Posts
I used rigid in my coop. as far as connecting to outside power you can run conduit underground or wire an extension cord to the coop. Just plug the coop in. From a code point oif view the ext cord is easier..

I did ext cord for a wile for night light on timer to keep egg production up, and a water heater I made.. And a fan for in the summer.

I then decided I needed electric to the coop..

After my first round running romex I changed it all to hard pipe..

Name:  P06-09-12_17.00.jpg
Views: 412
Size:  38.9 KB
Name:  P07-08-12_15.19[1].jpg
Views: 386
Size:  31.2 KB
Name:  P07-09-12_17.49.jpg
Views: 355
Size:  15.7 KB
Name:  P07-23-12_14.14.jpg
Views: 433
Size:  27.2 KB
Name:  P07-23-12_14.14[1].jpg
Views: 368
Size:  20.2 KB
Name:  P07-23-12_14.15[1].jpg
Views: 333
Size:  29.8 KB
Name:  P07-23-12_14.15[2].jpg
Views: 352
Size:  33.0 KB
Name:  P07-24-12_18.37.jpg
Views: 398
Size:  30.7 KB
Name:  P07-24-12_18.38.jpg
Views: 338
Size:  28.5 KB

This is a thermal plug. for fan to come on when hot..

Name:  P07-24-12_19.21.jpg
Views: 407
Size:  28.1 KB
 
  #9  
Old 06-06-17, 03:32 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,152
Received 62 Votes on 54 Posts
  #10  
Old 06-06-17, 03:38 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,152
Received 62 Votes on 54 Posts
Name:  P07-01-12_11.55[1].jpg
Views: 410
Size:  31.4 KBName:  P06-15-12_17.39.jpg
Views: 323
Size:  50.2 KBName:  P06-15-12_17.26.jpg
Views: 488
Size:  49.8 KBName:  P06-15-12_17.26[1].jpg
Views: 419
Size:  46.8 KB .
 
  #11  
Old 06-06-17, 04:16 PM
D
DLH
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Allis, WI
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Nice coop. Think I'll sent this thread to my nephew. May give him some ideas. I had thought about putting a while-in-use outlet next to the coop and running a heavy duty cord from there but decided to do the conduit all the way. Did some research on flexible conduit. Since it comes in a 25 ft roll I'm now thinking I'll use that from the GFCI to the coop and PVC conduit inside. Maybe put an S curve in it where it runs up to the coop to allow for some movement.

Don H
 
  #12  
Old 06-06-17, 05:16 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,152
Received 62 Votes on 54 Posts
I put my coop by the shed where I had electric already..



Name:  P07-19-12_15.47.jpg
Views: 318
Size:  46.6 KBName:  P07-19-12_15.47[2].jpg
Views: 346
Size:  38.3 KBName:  P07-19-12_18.51.jpg
Views: 331
Size:  49.7 KB
 
  #13  
Old 06-06-17, 05:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,326 Votes on 1,225 Posts
Mike... my sister had problems with one of her chickens and an extension cord so I wired her coop in sealtite. Have you had any problems like that ?
 
  #14  
Old 06-06-17, 05:55 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,152
Received 62 Votes on 54 Posts
Problems like what? Its all hard piped inside. The chickens are good and dont really peck..
 
  #15  
Old 06-06-17, 06:42 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,326 Votes on 1,225 Posts
Ok... you have a small pen and the chickens are not outside the pen. My sister has the pen and then a much larger area they roam around.

No problems inside.... it was the extension cord thru their roaming area.
 
  #16  
Old 08-08-17, 03:16 PM
D
DLH
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Allis, WI
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hope I'm not bringing up an old topic but I have a problem that I see a solution too. In post #8 there's a picture of a fan, a cord with a red plug, and an open box. My question is this. The PVC elbow has a double bend in it. How was that done or is the PVC that flexable?

DLH
 
  #17  
Old 08-08-17, 05:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,326 Votes on 1,225 Posts
This is your thread. You can come back and re-address it any time you need to.

That is two purchased components connected together. A 22-1/2 sweep and a 45 sweep.

Name:  P07-24-12_19.21.jpg
Views: 335
Size:  30.8 KB
 
  #18  
Old 08-08-17, 07:54 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,758
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
No problems inside.... it was the extension cord thru their roaming area.
Maybe she should have just used...........Chicken Wire!
 
  #19  
Old 08-09-17, 09:56 AM
D
DLH
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Allis, WI
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, I see it now. I'm working on a patio and I'm running PVC under a double 2" by 8" that supports the patio. I needed a way to come out from under the 2" by 8"s and mount an outlet on the face of it.

DLH
 
  #20  
Old 08-09-17, 11:26 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Did some research on flexible conduit. Since it comes in a 25 ft roll I'm now thinking I'll use that from the GFCI to the coop and PVC conduit inside.
Not all flexible conduit can be used outside. Did you mean Sealtite? Note: It must be marked for burial if you bury it.
 
  #21  
Old 08-10-17, 08:35 AM
D
DLH
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Allis, WI
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am considering exterior flexible conduit. Never worked with it before. Does it use the same fittings as rigid PVC?

DLH
 
  #22  
Old 08-10-17, 09:03 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,218
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
Sealtight uses different fitting than rigid PVC conduit .
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: