Powering home with generac 15kW generator

Old 07-09-17, 06:33 AM
A
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Powering home with generac 15kW generator

I just purchased a used guardian ultra source 15kW (22kW surge) generator. I am hoping to install an interlock on my Siemens panel in order to gain access to all circuits as opposed to a transfer switch and only have a few.

I'm fairly new to generators and am wondering about the inlet box I should purchase. I see that the genny has a 50amp outlet and a few 30s. Am I supposed to put a 50amp inlet and then 50amp breakers in the panel? Wouldn't that hold me to 12kW max? How should I hook it up in order to have access to its full power?

Sponsored Links
Old 07-09-17, 06:58 AM
A
Received 91 Votes on 84 Posts
The straightforward wiring procedure for home use uses the 50 amp receptacle on the generator and limits you to 50 amps (perhaps plus a margin for starting surge of some appliances) or 12 KW, all at 240 volts. Use a 50 amp inlet, 50 amp transfer switch, and 6 gauge wiring to the home electrical system.

Use of the generator out in the field (such as at a construction site) would have more than one generator receptacle in use allowing full use of the 15 KW capability.

Check the generator instructions for lug connections that bypass the receptacles and therefore can be used to draw the full 15 KW.

You, too, could use a 30 amp receptacle on the generator together with a portable subpanel (glorified power strip) with 15 and/or 20 amp breakered ordinary receptacles for some lights and appliances connected with extension cords while also using the 50 amp generator receptacle to feed the home electrical system and get a total of 15 KW out of the generator.

Old 07-09-17, 07:06 AM
A
Received 91 Votes on 84 Posts
Note that if you use lug connections in the generator you must have breakers or other overcurrent protection, either in the generator or elsewhere, to prevent drawing more than 15 KW continuously from the generator.