Kitchen appliance wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-13-17, 07:01 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Kitchen appliance wiring

Hey all, I am re-wiring a kitchen, i already have the diposal on its own 20 amp breaker and 12/2 wire. I also have the dishwasher on its own 20 amp breaker and 12/2 wiring. Is this ok or should I change it to 15 amp 14/2 wire? Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-13-17, 07:21 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 785
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
AFAIK, there is no reason to change it to 15 amp.
 
  #3  
Old 07-13-17, 07:36 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,312
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The only reason to run 15 amp circuits is if you are a contractor and are only providing the minimum required circuits - maximizing your profits!

Every 120v circuit in my house is 20 amp.
 
  #4  
Old 07-13-17, 07:51 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
The only reason to change it would be if the manufacturer of either appliance requires a 15A breaker in the installation instructions. In that case, only change the breaker but leave the #12 wire. This would allow future flexibility to change back to 20A when you eventually replace appliances.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: