Electrical Panel


  #1  
Old 08-27-17, 04:43 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Electrical Panel

Need some guidance. Installing 7 new circuits for finished basement. Sub panel is Square D Homeline 100amp. Going to hook up the remaining new breakers (6 more to go) to already existing sub panel and I noticed the copper bus only extends up to the first 8 slots. Panel has 12 knockouts and the plastic track extends to those 12 locations as well. Am I missing something here? Is there a bigger copper bus I can install? Let me know options, I am hoping I do not have to replace the entire sub panel. Photo attached.
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 08-27-17, 05:08 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,378
Received 145 Votes on 128 Posts
The cover is used for two different panels . You have space for two more full size breakers. The panel may take tsndems, but if you need afci protection a tandem will not work
 
  #3  
Old 08-27-17, 05:22 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Attached are more photos of the labels inside of the panel. How do I tell if tandem breakers are allowed. Of the 7 new circuits, two are GFCI.
 
Attached Images     
  #4  
Old 08-28-17, 10:25 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,378
Received 145 Votes on 128 Posts
Can you post the model number?
 
  #5  
Old 08-30-17, 09:02 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 11,125
Received 155 Votes on 138 Posts
Sub panel is Square D Homeline 100amp. Going to hook up the remaining new breakers (6 more to go) to already existing sub panel and I noticed the copper bus only extends up to the first 8 slots.
Square D Homeline builder grade panels are not available with copper bus, just tin plated aluminum bus.
 
  #6  
Old 08-30-17, 09:22 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,787
Received 77 Votes on 69 Posts
The last picture shows an = sign and "two single poles" for all spaces. From that you should be able to fit tandems in all 8 spaces yielding 16 circuits. As mentioned, AFCI beakers need their own space as don't come in a tandem version.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: