Losing power in one room

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-18-17, 06:54 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Losing power in one room

So last night the power in one of my rooms started flickering and then went out. A few seconds later it came back on. It did this for about 10 minutes before it stayed on. This is the second night this has happened. I tried cycling the breaker and checked the connections on the breaker and made sure they were tight. Any idea as to what might be causing this?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-18-17, 07:06 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,698
Received 330 Votes on 293 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

Do you know what all is on that circuit? does anything on that circuit work before it gets to that room? I'd guess a bad/broken connection somewhere along the line.
 
  #3  
Old 09-18-17, 09:24 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok let me say first that the wiring in this house is done very odd. So there is a washing machine, microwave, 2 light fixtures and coffee maker on that circuit. When the power issue starts happening it effects everything at the same time.
 
  #4  
Old 09-18-17, 09:27 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,698
Received 330 Votes on 293 Posts
So nothing works on that circuit? I'd try to find the first receptacle/light [closest to breaker] and open it up and see if there are any disconnected or burnt wires. Don't forget to have the breaker in the off position!
 
  #5  
Old 09-18-17, 09:48 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
As Mark said check all connections. Remake any wire nut connections and move any backstabbed connections to the screws. Any lights or switches also need to be treated in the same way.
 
  #6  
Old 09-20-17, 08:06 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I checked the outlet closest to the breaker and connections look fine, not lose or burnt, and all connections are to the screws. The problem has gotten worse. Now instead of the power flickering on and off it will go out for up to a few hours before it graces us with its presence again.
 
  #7  
Old 09-20-17, 09:11 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,479
Received 112 Votes on 88 Posts
Do you have anything plugged into the first outlet on that circuit to see if power loss is also there when the power dies? If the whole circuit goes out you know the problem is before that point. You can try swapping the breaker with another breaker to see that may be defective.
 
  #8  
Old 09-20-17, 10:05 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes the first outlet from the breaker loses power as with everything else. I wasn't sure if breakers really went bad. I will try changing it out
 
  #9  
Old 09-20-17, 10:50 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
Breaker could be failing or a loose connection in panel. Hope there are no buried connections in wall,
 
  #10  
Old 09-29-17, 10:35 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, bit of a update. This has happened twice now, when the power goes out in the room, if I turn on the stove (which is on its own circuit) the power comes back on. Any ideas?
 
  #11  
Old 09-30-17, 12:05 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
when the power goes out in the room, if I turn on the stove... the power comes back on
Call the power company 24 hour emergency number now and ask them to check for a dropped leg on their side. Your drop or lateral may have an intermittent open or there may be a loose wire in the meter socket.
 
  #12  
Old 09-30-17, 09:27 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
They came out and checked a the meter socket, and the connections on the other side of the main breaker. They also checked the connections at the transformer. He said everything looked good.
 
  #13  
Old 09-30-17, 10:20 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,740
Received 1,185 Votes on 1,097 Posts
Electric stove..... correct ?
When you turned the stove on...... did the top burners get hot ?
 
  #14  
Old 09-30-17, 12:54 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes they get hot. As soon as you click the dial over to start the burner heating up the lights pop back on. ( remember the stove and the lights are not on the same circuit)
 
  #15  
Old 09-30-17, 05:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,740
Received 1,185 Votes on 1,097 Posts
OK... we're getting closer. It sounds like you have a split bus electric panel. A picture of the inside of the panel would confirm. If you are uncomfortable taking the panel cover off.... see if there's a make and model number on the door.
http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html
 
  #16  
Old 09-30-17, 06:39 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I really appreciate all the help on this guys.
 
Attached Images  
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: