Switch Wiring Quit working

Old 10-14-17, 04:57 PM
I
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Switch Wiring Quit working

So we don't get off on a side track, I'm an engineer with a second degree in electrical engineering, so I understand how house wiring works electrically. My house was wired by a person who knew nothing about electricity. One of several examples: He set all of the switches and outlet boxes flush with the studs, allowing no room for the wallboard. Electrically the wiring is a disaster area.

I have a wall switch that's intermittent. Upon investigation it appears the problem is at a wire-nut. This is the supply side. Power/voltage goes into the wire-nut but doesn't always come out. So, I removed the wire nut with the intention of replacing it. There are two wires coming in that twist together with one that goes the the switch. The return is only one lead and a wire-nut and it is no problem to change the wire-nut but doesn't need it. However, the two hot leads coming from the wall are too short for me to twist together with the one on the switch. I suspect the installer had the same problem and that's why it's intermittent.

My question is:
What do you do when the lead(s) coming from the wall are too short?

Old 10-14-17, 05:35 PM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
You could try a polaris connector.

Attached Images  
Old 10-14-17, 06:04 PM
I
Thanks for your reply.

I have to confess I've never heard of a polaris connector. I assume the thing in the picture let too leads come in one end and somehow they're clamped to the connector then one lead can go into the other end and it gets clamped.

If this is correct, how do the wires get clamped/tightened to the connector and where do I get them?

The one in your picture looks like it's splicing coax. How long is the connector without wire?

Old 10-14-17, 06:49 PM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts