Spark from Drain cleaner to Cast Iron main drain

Old 10-16-17, 02:52 PM
M
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Spark from Drain cleaner to Cast Iron main drain

Not sure where to begin, I went to help my grand mother clear out her main drain. The main drain is located in the basement. The home is a bit old, as the main drain is cast iron. I plugged the auto feed drain cleaner I rented from home depot into a non-grounded GFCI outlet. As soon as the cable from the machine hit the cast iron cleanout, it arched. The GFCI outlet did not trip nor did the breaker.

Not knowing what to do, I thought for some reason the pipe has electricity (I’m not a professional), I turned off a few breakers from the panel including the power for the basement where the non-grounded GFCI i used is located. I tried again, after turning off a few breakers and plugged into an outlet that has a ground and the issue did not occur, no arch/spark.

Im assuming and could be completely off, but maybe the pipe does not have any electricity flowing. Im thinking the cast iron main drain is acting as a ground, when I plugged the rental drain cleaner into the non-grounded outlet, it treated the cast iron pipe as a ground? My grandmothers ground from the fuse box is connected maybe 5-6ft to a clamp that’s on a water pipe.

I will go back to perform more test. I have checked the machine I rented and its not defective. I would appreciate any advice or if anyone ran into this issue before. Thank you!

Old 10-16-17, 03:10 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 45 Likes on 43 Posts
Im thinking the cast iron main drain is acting as a ground, when I plugged the rental drain cleaner into the non-grounded outlet, it treated the cast iron pipe as a ground?