Do I need to run a new line?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-13-17, 05:04 PM
2
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do I need to run a new line?

Original wiring to my water heater timer box is 10/2 from a 30 amp breaker, and from the timer to the actual heater I have 10/2.
If I move my water heater can I use a junction box and extend the line or do I have to run a whole new line? The heating elements are 4500W.
 
  #2  
Old 11-13-17, 05:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,835
Received 1,331 Votes on 1,230 Posts
Perfectly acceptable to add a junction box and extend the 10-2 w/gr. to the new location. The junction box also needs to be connected to the grounds.
 
  #3  
Old 11-13-17, 05:22 PM
2
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Single gang size box or double?
Also, the timer was temporarily hang loosely on a screw while making changes in the room and the timer hit the copper water pipe feeding the water heater and there was a pop. The box is wired as directed and grounded.
 

Last edited by 2010flstf; 11-13-17 at 06:12 PM.
  #4  
Old 11-13-17, 07:35 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,802
Received 252 Votes on 220 Posts
Single gang size box or double?
I suggest a deep 4"x4" box.
 
  #5  
Old 11-13-17, 08:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,835
Received 1,331 Votes on 1,230 Posts
If the timer was grounded properly..... it would not spark if it hit a copper water pipe.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: