How to install a new 3-way switch with sensor?


  #1  
Old 12-03-17, 11:41 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,022
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
How to install a new 3-way switch with sensor?

This is my existing 3-way switch. It has four wires...two reds and two white. My new legrand RRW600U 3-way switch sensor has only three wires (black, red, and yellow) coming out of the unit. There is no screws. My question is, how do I connect four wires from my existing to this three wires switch? Is it simply not compatible then? Thanks!

 

Last edited by Charlie2; 12-03-17 at 12:00 PM.
  #2  
Old 12-03-17, 12:17 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
That appears to be a four-way switch. Are there three or more locations that have a switch that controls the same light(s)?
 
  #3  
Old 12-03-17, 12:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,043
Received 2,946 Votes on 2,659 Posts
It's not compatible in that location. It would have to go in one of the other two locations.
 
  #4  
Old 12-03-17, 12:25 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,022
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Okay, there is one switch in the house and two switches inside the garage that controls the garage ceiling light. So, that means this is a 4-way switch then, correct?
 
  #5  
Old 12-03-17, 12:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,043
Received 2,946 Votes on 2,659 Posts
Yes.... that is a 4way switch.
 
  #6  
Old 12-03-17, 12:31 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,022
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Okay, thank you...much appreciated!
 
  #7  
Old 12-03-17, 12:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,043
Received 2,946 Votes on 2,659 Posts
That type of occupancy sensor wouldn't work in a 4w application even at one of the 3w locations. If the sensor was at one of the 3w locations and the 4w switch was changed.... the circuit would be dead. As you've seen by the last switch you wired.... you can move wire functions around.

Many of those sensors have slave controls that will allow a 4w application.

That circuit could also be rewired for 3w operation if you wanted to lose a location.
 
  #8  
Old 12-03-17, 12:41 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,022
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
PjMax, so are there any 4-way occupancy sensor switch that will work in my situation? I want to be able to have the ceiling light lights up when I drive into the garage.
 
  #9  
Old 12-03-17, 12:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,043
Received 2,946 Votes on 2,659 Posts
Not that I know of. You can do one of two things....
1) install a garage door opener with light.
2) if you already have a door opener.... install a motion sensing light plugged into the other half of the garage door opener receptacle.
 
  #10  
Old 12-03-17, 01:02 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,022
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
PjMax, thanks for the help...as always appreciated.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: