rewire bathroom gfs plugs


  #1  
Old 12-08-17, 12:47 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Iowa
Posts: 251
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
rewire bathroom gfs plugs

Have two bathrooms that have gfs plugs that are wired to power on when lights are turned on. Is it possible to wire so they are always on with probable existing wiring?
 
  #2  
Old 12-08-17, 04:45 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Open lights and switch boxes and tell us all the wires and connections in them
 
  #3  
Old 12-08-17, 04:46 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,502
Received 917 Upvotes on 775 Posts
Maybe. It will depend on how it is wired now. You will need to open up each box and tell us (or pictures are better) what you have for wiring.
 
  #4  
Old 12-10-17, 09:10 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Iowa
Posts: 251
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
only two wires

just two wires to plug white and blackName:  elec plug 1 013.jpg
Views: 307
Size:  80.2 KB
 
  #5  
Old 12-10-17, 09:34 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,891
Received 192 Upvotes on 172 Posts
just two wires to plug white and black

All I see is a 15 amp GFCI receptacle, where is the plug?
 
  #6  
Old 12-10-17, 02:21 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,502
Received 917 Upvotes on 775 Posts
You will need to locate where the wires for the GFCI are located. Since it is switched it will be likely coming from the switch box or the light fixture. If it is in the switch box, making it hot all the time should be fairly easy. If it is in the light fixture box, not so much.
 
  #7  
Old 12-11-17, 11:29 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Iowa
Posts: 251
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
thanks wires come from the junction box for the lights wall switch works both the lights and the GFCI
 
  #8  
Old 12-11-17, 03:16 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Then that's what we need to see.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: