Strange (dangerous?) wiring in a 2 wire home circuit

Old 01-10-18, 12:14 PM
H
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Strange (dangerous?) wiring in a 2 wire home circuit

Hi people!

First...my house was built in 1952-53 with a cloth(?) wound, 2 wire (ungrounded) system all over.
I've added 1pc. grounded wire for my computer, but nothing else. At least there is a new circuit breaker box in the basement

Here's my dilemma:.

* I was replacing 2 old double socket wall plugs upstairs in my 1/2 finished attic area.
* The first was easy - 2 white & 2 black wires. No problem.
* The second one was something I had never seen before. There were 3 cables coming into the box - 3 white wires & 3 black. The top screws had 1 white and 1 black attached from one of the cables (normal), but the bottom screws had 2 white and 2 black wires wound around each of the bottom screws.

I'm not an electrician at all, but I've replaced many wall sockets and have never seen this before. My first thought was that this setup is really dangerous and completely illegal.

Before I do anything on this, please let me know what you think...

Ken H.
Clarksburg, WV

Old 01-10-18, 03:34 PM
H
Did I confuse anyone on the prior question?

About the 2nd double wall plug:
* The top wires from 1 insulated line were screwed on fine
* ....but, the bottom screws had 2 wires going to each screw - (2 white & 2 black). Each set of the bottom hot lines were in 2 separate insulated cables.This is what I am questioning.

As far as I know, I have 3 hot lines coming into 1 double wall plug.

Old 01-10-18, 03:47 PM
As far as I know, I have 3 hot lines coming into 1 double wall plug