New 200AMP Mobile Home Meter Hookup.


  #1  
Old 02-19-18, 04:58 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
New 200AMP Mobile Home Meter Hookup.

Hey all, first post. Be gentle!

I'm getting ready to build a house, but before we start building we are selling our current home and moving into our family owned mobile home.

My question is regarding a new meter box that I plan on installing DIY.

A gracious friend gave me an "old" meter box with everything on it. Only thing I'll need to supply is a pole and grounding rod/cable. Now keep in mind that this thing has been sitting in his condition workshop for over an year. That's what he told me anyways.

Whenever I opened the box and looked at the hookup it didn't seem quite right to me. I'm no expert in electrical work, that's why I'm here, but I would like to get a second opinion.

I'm located in Southern Mississippi. Jackson County to be more accurate.
Here is the power company service guidelines: http://singingriver.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/Electric-Service-GuideColor-web.pdf

I'm just wondering if this panel hookup is salvageable since it looks brand new to me. THANKS!
 
Attached Images    
  #2  
Old 02-19-18, 05:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,098
Received 3,423 Upvotes on 3,069 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Here's a biggie....
Some local electrical codes do not permit the use of aluminum for residential or commercial service entrance conductors.

You need to check with your local inspector and see if they require copper above the meter for the drop. That would most likely mean a pipe service. You can use 2" PVC and THWN copper wiring. That doesn't look like a 200A meter pan. Does it say 200A on it ? That meter pan and disconnect looks ok.
 
  #3  
Old 02-19-18, 05:34 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,757
Received 676 Upvotes on 573 Posts
I would get the part number off the equipment and send it to the power company to make sure it is approved. I read in the PDF that the neutral/ground needs to be connected to the center lugs of the meter. Yours doesn't have that.
 
  #4  
Old 02-19-18, 05:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,098
Received 3,423 Upvotes on 3,069 Posts
Would that mean a 5 lug pan must be used ? It doesn't specify.
 
  #5  
Old 02-19-18, 06:40 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Would it be easier to just sell the panel and buy a meter base and 200 amp panel separate? I think this panel might be used for temporary service, but i need permanent power on site.
 
  #6  
Old 02-19-18, 06:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,098
Received 3,423 Upvotes on 3,069 Posts
You can buy a similar style setup or two separate parts..... pan and panel.

We have two power companies in my area. They specify two different style meter pans. One has a barrel type seal/lock and the other doesn't.
 
  #7  
Old 02-20-18, 04:54 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,960
Received 158 Upvotes on 144 Posts
Hi, I donít see a main disconnect or am I missing something?
Geo
 
  #8  
Old 02-20-18, 08:16 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,894
Received 163 Upvotes on 142 Posts
Looks like it will only accept 6 2 pole breakers.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: