How does a doorbell wiring work?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-22-18, 10:34 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 438
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How does a doorbell wiring work?

All I know is I have a transformer mounted on my breaker box and two tiny wires leave it and go upstairs. Do they go to the button on the door first or the bell itself first and then from the bell goes to the door?

Is there a more modern, wifi way of a doorbell that doesnt involve any wires? I think even ring needs some wires. Ours is too old and I want to change but I wakt to do it right and have a clean install. Just not sure the best practice is.
 
  #2  
Old 02-22-18, 11:10 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,957
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
Normally all the wires are pulled the the chime location,the big box stores have wireless chimes that you may want to look at.
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 02-22-18, 11:12 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,548
Received 157 Votes on 139 Posts
A standard doorbell consists of 3 items, the transformer, bell, and button. Typically, the bell and transformer each run to the bell, and the bell is where everything is connected. But it really depends, the connection could be in the basement/attic/etc. Since it's all low voltage, it really doesn't matter where those connections happen.

If everything is working and you just need a new bell, there are hundreds (maybe more) options in the stores and online. They are all pretty much interoperable, so find one you like.

There are also lots of wireless doorbells available. Check out Amazon for a huge selection, or your local hardware store. In that case, you'd abandon your existing setup and just use your new wireless doorbell.
 
  #4  
Old 02-22-18, 05:17 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 9,460
Received 289 Votes on 259 Posts
If you choose the wireless type, let me suggest a couple of tips. Get the plug in style for the chime unit and the button that uses the 12 volt batteries # 23A, not the button style batteries. Range will depend on internal barriers that the signal must go through. So try to put the chime as near to the door button as possible. Usually the chime is loud enough to be heard throughout the house.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: