Making a 220 Extension Cord


  #1  
Old 03-12-18, 11:37 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Making a 220 Extension Cord

Hello,

I am currently in need of a 220 extension cord for my Jointer. My Jointer is a Grizzly G1018 -220v- 1.5HP - 9amp Jointer.

I have read the instruction manual it gives recommended wire gauges for certain lengths of extension cords.
I am in need of a 50' extension cord. My manual states that for 11-12 amps I can use 16ga wire and for 13-16 amps i can use 12ga wire.

Does this seem correct? At 220v my jointer requires 9 amps. Does this mean I can use 16ga wire for my extension cord? that just seems like too light of a guage for this.

here is a link to the manual for my jointer.

https://cdn0.grizzly.com/manuals/g0500_m.pdf

Any help on this would be appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 03-12-18, 11:43 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,630
Received 98 Votes on 86 Posts
I would size the wire based on the circuit. If it's a 15 amp circuit, I would use at least 14 ga wire. If it's a 20 amp circuit, I would use at least 12 ga wire.

No chance of skipping the cord entirely by adding a new receptacle closer to the tool?
 
  #3  
Old 03-12-18, 11:48 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unfortunately no, the only thing I could do other than the Extension Cord; is make the power cord for the Jointer longer.
 
  #4  
Old 03-12-18, 11:59 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,877
Received 99 Votes on 87 Posts
Using to small a gauge wire will cause the motor to overheat.
Making the cord longer will save you the cost of another connector.
 
  #5  
Old 03-12-18, 12:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,837
Received 1,476 Votes on 1,364 Posts
Don't even mess around. For a 50' extension cord.... use #12 wiring.
 
  #6  
Old 03-12-18, 12:32 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
@Joe - That sounds like the way to go. If I buy a 12/3 SJTW Heavy Duty Extension Cord with standard 110 plugs, can replace the connectors and use it for the longer power cord?
 
  #7  
Old 03-12-18, 01:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,837
Received 1,476 Votes on 1,364 Posts
Joe is recommending adding a 50' power cord to the tool. Not using an extension.

There is no problem cutting off the 120v caps and installing 240v ones in their place.
 
  #8  
Old 03-12-18, 01:03 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Perfect, thank you guys very much.
 
  #9  
Old 03-12-18, 01:35 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So for instance,

I could buy this extension cord

https://www.amazon.com/US-Wire-74050...sion+cord+sjtw

and replace the caps with the correct 220 ones for my jointer?

thank you
 
  #10  
Old 03-12-18, 01:56 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,574
Received 143 Votes on 116 Posts
I would not use a SJTW code because of the stiffness. I would make one up using SJOOW cord, way more flexible and easier to coil.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: