Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

how to make a remote controlled umbrella work without the remote control

how to make a remote controlled umbrella work without the remote control

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-05-18, 06:30 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
how to make a remote controlled umbrella work without the remote control

My father in law gave me a patio umbrella that had a remote control to open and close and also control the LED lights under the umbrella. The problem is we don't have the remote anymore (threw it out by mistake). The umbrella is a Galtech Oasis which was discontinued about 12 years ago so i cant just buy another remote. The 3 pictures are the transformer itself which is part of the cord that plugs into an outlet and the umbrella pole; and the female part of the umbrella that the transformer cord goes into. When i plus the cord into the umbrella, the power light lights up on the pole so i have power but cant work any of it without the remote. Any ideas? Thanks Brett

im trying to add my pictures I took but canít figure it out.
 

Last edited by bmead; 07-05-18 at 06:38 AM. Reason: Trying to add my pics
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-05-18, 06:53 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
  #3  
Old 07-05-18, 07:19 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Add pics

Ray, I go to Edit Post but donít see any advanced tab. Is it because Iím trying to do all this from my phone?
 
  #4  
Old 07-05-18, 08:23 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Yes. You need to do it from a computer.
 
  #5  
Old 07-05-18, 08:25 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,756
Received 632 Votes on 584 Posts
How "handy" are you and what type of tools do you own? Do you want this to operate electrically or do you want to convert it to manual operation?
 
  #6  
Old 07-05-18, 09:38 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,170
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
We don't need pictures of the umbrella, power supply or connectors. We'd need to see pictures of the remote control receiver board.
 
  #7  
Old 07-05-18, 10:34 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I guess the remote receiver control board is in the gray cylinder that's attached to the pole?

I feel im pretty handy but not sure this is something I want to take on if too complicated. Im fine if I can easily covert to manual operation. I'm more concerned trying to get the LED lights to work, than opening and closing the umbrella (I can always do that manually). Just seeing if I can somehow add a switch or something to turn the lights on/off in lieu of the lost remote control that used to work that.
 
Attached Images  
  #8  
Old 07-05-18, 10:39 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
you said you don't need to see the other pics, but just in case it matters
 
Attached Images   
  #9  
Old 07-05-18, 10:47 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,756
Received 632 Votes on 584 Posts
If you open it up you'll likely find two wires that go up to the lights. Everything else is probably in the lump in the middle of the pole so the lights should be the only wires going up to the top. You will need to supply DC power to those wires. Note that the power supply you showed is AC. The LED's will have to be powered by DC.

You can stack D batteries together and hold the light wires to the batteries. Start with two batteries to make 3v and keep adding another battery until the lights come on. That will tell you what voltage they need. I'm betting it's 12v but it could be something less depending on the electronics in the umbrella.
 
  #10  
Old 07-05-18, 11:01 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pilot Dane... Thank you I will see what Iím able to do and get back to you either way
 
  #11  
Old 07-06-18, 06:17 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pilot Dane

Is there any reason why I canít use my cord? Or I must stack batteries?
 
  #12  
Old 07-06-18, 07:09 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,756
Received 632 Votes on 584 Posts
As I explained your power supply is AC. All LED lights are DC. There is probably a circuit inside the umbrella that is converting the AC into DC.

The unknown is what voltage needs to be sent up to the lights. There is a good chance it's 12 volts but it could be something less. By using batteries it's an easy way to start at a low voltage and work up until you find the voltage where they illuminate. If you don't want to mess with batteries just feed the lights 12 volts DC and see if it works.

You will have to be aware of polarity. Hopefully the wires going up to the lights are color coded. If the wires are black and white then black should be positive. If the wires are red and green red should be the positive. If the wires are red and black then red is probably the positive.
 
  #13  
Old 07-07-18, 05:12 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok i took opened it up and this is what i see.
 
Attached Images      
  #14  
Old 07-08-18, 05:45 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I still don't understand why I cant somehow bypass the remote control to rig it so when I plug it in, both the umbrella goes up and the LED lights go on. Is this now impossible because the remote control is gone?
 
  #15  
Old 07-08-18, 06:44 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,756
Received 632 Votes on 584 Posts
Can you remove the circuit board and post a good picture of the top side with the components?
 
  #16  
Old 07-08-18, 05:36 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pilot Dane....Yes, i'll do it in a day or 2 and post back. Thanks
 
  #17  
Old 07-08-18, 06:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,170
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
We need big/good pictures of both sides. I can see at least two relays on the board. We may be able to just have you solder a jumper around them. My guess is the two relays control the opening and closing. The LED's are controlled electronically. I see a set of two wires coming from the top. That may be the LED's. Also a three wire group from the top may be the motor and an end switch.


Name:  oasis_X.jpg
Views: 179
Size:  61.0 KB
The board only allows this sized picture to post. If you can take big pictures you can send them to me and I'll host and post them. You could also post them on a hosting site and link to them here.
 
  #18  
Old 07-09-18, 05:20 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok here are 2 pics of the back of the board
 
Attached Images   
  #19  
Old 07-09-18, 05:41 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
so the white/black wires on left say "Limit" (maybe for the LED lights?)...the wires in the middle say "Sin," and the black/white wires on the right say "Motor" (presumably this is to raise/lower the umbrella?)
 
  #20  
Old 07-09-18, 06:00 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,756
Received 632 Votes on 584 Posts
One thing I don't see is how power gets to the board. Which set of wires lead down to the power socket?
 
  #21  
Old 07-09-18, 06:27 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Red/Black goes down to the power socket...
see first picture in thread #13
 
  #22  
Old 08-22-18, 07:29 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is it possible to just cut wires off of the circuit board and wirenut together so that the umbrella will go up and down and lights go on and off when I plug in/unplug it?
 
  #23  
Old 08-22-18, 09:46 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,170
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
It looks like only two wires to the motor. That would mean connect DC power to those wires in one direction and the umbrella would go up. Connecting them in the opposite direction (polarity) and the umbrella will go down.

End stop appears to be a function of the board which means you can only apply power momentarily to the motor to open or close it.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: