Disable 3-way switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-06-18, 11:40 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Great White North
Posts: 223
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Disable 3-way switch

When my house was built the plan was to have some sort of water feature out back that could be controlled by a pair of 3-way switches inside the house, but this never happened.

I now want to run the roughed in cable to the outside and install a few electrical outlets in the backyard. How do i re-wire the 3-way switches to effectively turn them into "dummy" switches and always have power flowing to the back yard?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-07-18, 05:47 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,174
Received 92 Votes on 79 Posts
This is going to depend on how the wiring was run. Can you tell us the connections you have at the boxes now? Do you have a multimeter to test for voltage ?
 
  #3  
Old 07-07-18, 09:22 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Great White North
Posts: 223
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Yes I do have a multimeter. I'll check the connections and post back, thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 07-07-18, 12:20 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Great White North
Posts: 223
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Sorry bad intel, it's not a 3-way switch but there is also no power going to the switch that I can tell. I'm thinking there's a possibility that the builder roughed in the switch but never connected it to the panel? Supposed to be a dedicated circuit for this. There's some NMWU 12 wire that appears to runs from the switch to the outside but I can't really see how that switch would get power. Your thoughts?
 
Attached Images  
  #5  
Old 07-07-18, 01:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,794
Received 1,193 Votes on 1,104 Posts
Possibly it goes to the panel but is not connected to a breaker. It'd be pretty hard for us to help you much further. You'd need to determine where that three wire cable goes.
 
  #6  
Old 07-07-18, 03:43 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Great White North
Posts: 223
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
it does not go to the panel as far as I can tell, i wired up my basement and never came across any cable that wasn't connected to the panel. How can I test this cable to determine if it's only connected to that switch and doesn't terminate anywhere else?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: