Welding Cart build with attached sub panel.

Old 07-14-18, 10:15 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Welding Cart build with attached sub panel.

I have some experience working on electrical projects.
However, I’m not one to let my pride or ego through some amp’s through me. I thought I would look to the internet for some refreshers and advice. However, that left me feeling a little tarded, with all the opinions and know it all’s out there. That might have been my fault somewhat asking on Welding forums. I would like to get confirmation on or advice. I decided to put my project on this forum seems to have good electrical advice.

My Project: Pic’s of cart SketchUp with Sub-p and receptacles attached
I have 3 welders & (1) Plasma cutter, Set of Torches & (3) Grinders with a lot of welding tools. I have built a cart holding all item listed above. When I was young, I remember the old guy down the street who first taught me welding had a large cart set up similar to the cart I’m building now. This is where the idea came from.

Welding Cart Design: Cart measurements 54”W x 58”H x 26”D. Three decks Topdeck for TIG, MIG & PLASMA. Lower Deck for STICK & TIG-water cooler. The third deck is off the low back for storage of all bottles for Torches, TIG & MIG. Wheels are steel, Frame is steel, Body Panels are sheet metal. Three rolling draws for Grinders and some other tooling.

Main goals: Attaching Sub-P to cart. Having On/Off switches of each unit. Saving space. Switching machines at a flip of a breaker. To have all welders & torches portable around the shop and yard – driveway. Eliminating the need for more than one cord. Eliminating the unplugging and plugging of each machine. Only one Welder will ever be power at a time. Estimated max amp used on the cart at any given time (36A-40A.