Replacing 3-way switches with smart Bluetooth switches

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-30-18, 11:10 AM
MosesExploses's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing 3-way switches with smart Bluetooth switches

Hello,

I'm replacing my 3-way switches in my basement for some Leviton Decora Bluetooth switches (the DDL06 and its companion switch the DD00R). I'm not quite sure how to wire this up. I tried tracing my current wiring and i believe it is wired like this:

Name:  wiring.jpg
Views: 333
Size:  15.3 KB

Whereas i need to wire it up as described in their instruction sheet. Any suggestions on where i start? Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-30-18, 05:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,061
Received 1,109 Votes on 1,029 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I can help you with that. Your link didn't work and DDL06 is only a partial part number so I wasn't exactly sure which device you are using. Based on your diagram..... where will the main unit go.... left location or right ?
 
  #3  
Old 07-31-18, 05:51 AM
MosesExploses's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry about that, hopefully this link works.
My full model is DDL06 - BLW and the companion is the DD00R-DLZ.

For clarity, i've uploaded my wire drawing here.

I'd assume the main unit should go on left (switch #1).
My thought is that on switch #1, is it that i just pig-tailing from the hot (black) marette into the smart switch.. and having the neutral (white) wire from switch #2 now going into the white marette near switch #1? Aside from this, i think all other wires remain in place.
 

Last edited by MosesExploses; 07-31-18 at 08:02 AM.
  #4  
Old 07-31-18, 07:24 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,061
Received 1,109 Votes on 1,029 Posts
Thanks for your patience. I got the info you posted this morning and did the drawing during the day.
I took your diagram and relabeled it with the labels of the new devices. Should be a pretty easy install.

Name:  ddl06.JPG
Views: 322
Size:  25.2 KB

Name:  wiring_L.jpg
Views: 204
Size:  41.9 KB

There are two wiring changes at the dimmer location. The white wire will now become a neutral to feed the remote dimmer. The black/hot is connected to both devices.
 
  #5  
Old 07-31-18, 08:27 PM
MosesExploses's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your reply. i did end up wiring it up as you depicted with those minor adjustments. Unfortunately my lights do not turn (although i can see there is power to both switches).
I even attempted to download the Leviton bluetooth app; although it connected to it via bluetooth, i could not turn the light on. I'm not sure what else i can try to troubleshoot. I did find an instruction sheet for the companion switch here but my switch is not referenced in it. I'm wondering if i even have the right pair of switches?
 
  #6  
Old 07-31-18, 08:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,061
Received 1,109 Votes on 1,029 Posts
With that type of setup..... I'm pretty sure the dimmer will work even if the slave is bad or not connected.

That will operate as a stand alone dimmer. Temporarily disconnect the YL/RD connection and see if it works now. If it doesn't..... it's defective or wired wrong. Keep in mind.... it does require a proper lighting load to operate properly and it must be grounded.

Name:  spz.JPG
Views: 257
Size:  22.2 KB
 
  #7  
Old 08-01-18, 05:11 AM
MosesExploses's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'll give this a go tonight to see if i can get at least a single-pole setup to work. I'm actually hoping it doesn't to indicate it is a defective unit as i cannot understand why it didn't work in the 3-way setup with the proper wiring. Will update later. Thanks again.
 
  #8  
Old 08-01-18, 09:07 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,061
Received 1,109 Votes on 1,029 Posts
I'm a big fan of devices that require a neutral to operate. If you notice.... your dimmer does not require a neutral. That means it either "steals" a neutral from the ground wire or it requires a certain amount of load to flow thru the device.

These types of "no neutral required" devices can be problematic.
 
  #9  
Old 08-01-18, 03:42 PM
MosesExploses's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good News first:
I attempted to install with a single switch and that didn't work either. I went and bought another one and tried it and it worked! Must have had a faulty switch!

Bad News:
I am using these Illume lights from Home Depot. When i set the dimmer to anything lower than full brightness, the lights flicker (more so the lower i set the dimming brightness). Also the switch itself makes an audible hum if you put your ear near it (again more so the lower i set the dimming to). These lights state that they are dimmable yet seem to struggle.

Ditch this switch and go with something specific for dimming LED lights?
 
  #10  
Old 08-01-18, 03:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,061
Received 1,109 Votes on 1,029 Posts
It's going to be experimental. LED's are hard to dim..... it's just a fact of life.
 
  #11  
Old 08-01-18, 04:10 PM
MosesExploses's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I might try some simple analog dimmers this weekend and see how they work out for me.. or possibly some smart ones specifically designed for LEDs. Anyways i appreciate all of your time and help and thanks for solving my issue!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: