open neutral after using saw

Old 09-02-18, 06:09 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
open neutral after using saw

So first of all everyone I am having a bad year and this electrical stuff is just making it worse. be patient with me as i am not an electrician and have only really changed switches and plugs and tomorrow is a holiday and i need power in my bathroom and closet.

I was using a saw to cut some flooring upstairs in the closet. After the third cut the power stopped working in the closet and the bathroom connected to it. I checked the breaker and it did not trip. I turned it completely off and then back on again to make sure i was not missing something there. The wires look fine in the breaker box as well. The circuit this is connected to is my downstairs bathroom and the power works just fine down there. When i plug my tester in it shows a hot ground reverse which after some research have figured out it is most likely an open neutral. I pulled the outlet the saw was plugged into and everything seemed to be fine and i reset the neutral connections in the wire nut. Still no power. I am wondering if the actual outlet could be bad causing this open neutral in turn stopping power from going to the rest of the closet and bathroom.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
TJ

Old 09-02-18, 07:09 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,951 Upvotes on 3,544 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You are correct..... that tester although said hot/ground reversed..... also indicates an open neutral.

You need to identify everything on the affected circuit. The problem will be at the last working device or the first dead device. A typical problem is that push-in terminals are used on a device like a receptacle and with age the contacts get loose and go intermittent and eventually go dead. If you see any push-in type connections...... move them to the screw terminals. This doesn't pertain to GFI receptacles as the wire does go into the back but the side screw holds it captive.