ST01 timer


  #1  
Old 10-06-18, 06:55 PM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ST01 timer

hey,

for those of you familiar with these type of timers, you would know that there is a wire provided for 3 way lighting circuits if you should need it. I might be going crazy, but this is my third time attempting to use one of these timers in a 3 way setup and it won’t work. Are these timers known for an issue like this regarding 3 way setups??

thanks
 
  #2  
Old 10-06-18, 07:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,543
Received 1,599 Votes on 1,473 Posts
I try not to use the timers on a three way circuit.
Did you rewire the three way switch at the other end ?

Name:  ST01.JPG
Views: 110
Size:  29.4 KB

Pretty basic. If you don't understand it.... what are the two traveler colors ?
 
  #3  
Old 10-06-18, 08:51 PM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hmm that seems to be my mistake. I did re wire at the other 3 way and the timer works now. However when you turn the other 3 way switch in the off position, the timer does not work. It seems I tied into the wrong traveler because it’s depending on the other 3 way for power. I think when it’s wired correctly the other 3 way will not function anymore
 
  #4  
Old 10-07-18, 06:33 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,258
Received 114 Votes on 99 Posts
It sounds like the switch is cutting the power to the timer.
 
  #5  
Old 10-07-18, 01:27 PM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The 2 traveler colors were red and black but they also used a white wire(not designated hot) on the black common screw. My understanding is on a 3 way switch, the wire that has constant power goes on the black common screw. Then that leaves the two travelers and I don’t believe it matters which brass screw they go on.
 
  #6  
Old 10-07-18, 02:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,543
Received 1,599 Votes on 1,473 Posts
The timer needs always live power on the A connection. So you need to determine where your always hot is. It could be at either end. Usually the always hot (line) is at one end and the feed out (load) is at the other end. Once you determine where the hot is..... the wiring is easily changed.

Connection B from the timer should be the black traveler. It should go to the Common screw and to the load.
Connection C from the timer should be on the red traveler and go to one traveler terminal.
One traveler terminal should be un-used.
 
  #7  
Old 10-07-18, 02:23 PM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oh ok it makes more sense. Just because there are 3 terminals doesn’t mean you need to use them all lol
 
  #8  
Old 10-07-18, 02:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,543
Received 1,599 Votes on 1,473 Posts
Timers and dimmers don't always react as expected in the three way mode.
 
  #9  
Old 10-07-18, 04:04 PM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hmm that’s why I prefer wireless like caseta and maestro lol. Don’t get me wrong the sto1 is fine but like you said it does not always work right
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: