How to wire this for GFCI


  #1  
Old 10-08-18, 11:32 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
How to wire this for GFCI

Having a bit of trouble figuring out how to wire 3 outlets for GFCI. These are kitchen outlets and have 2 sets of wires in each box, was only 1 outlet per box. 1 Red, 1 White, 1 Black and then a Ground wire. Pictures are of one outlet that has been "taken apart" and the other is what it looks like when just the old outlet was removed. Any help would be appreciated.

Note: Blue box was added as we are adding a garbage disposal switch next to the GFCI, note the yellow new cable.. Also in second picture is a light switch on the right(2 black wires).

Name:  kr1.jpg
Views: 214
Size:  71.0 KB

Name:  kr2.jpg
Views: 214
Size:  67.6 KB

Name:  kr3.jpg
Views: 206
Size:  73.0 KB
 
Attached Images   

Last edited by PJmax; 10-08-18 at 01:40 PM. Reason: cropped/labeled pictures
  #2  
Old 10-08-18, 11:40 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,401
Received 4,046 Upvotes on 3,630 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Some issues here.
We see 2) three wire cables and a new 12-2 in the top picture.
We see 2) three wire cables and an additional cable in the bottom picture. Looks like a switch to the left and a receptacle to the right.

When you work with GFI receptacles.... you need the biggest boxes available and especially with the amount of wiring you're trying to cram in there. You can use GFI receptacles on a three wire circuit but that means you cannot use the LOAD side of the receptacle.

So can we assume that the three wire cable is two circuits ?
What's the new 12-2 for ?
It may be easier to consider installing a 2P20A GFI circuit breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 10-08-18, 11:46 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Okay some further explanation. New 12-2 is for a light switch going there. The other 2 sets of 3 cables(minus ground wire) were for an exsisting 3 prong outlet(1).

Bottom picture is light switch on Right side 2 black wires existing lightswitch. and the other set of wires are how the top picture looked before removing the existing outlet.
 
  #4  
Old 10-08-18, 12:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,401
Received 4,046 Upvotes on 3,630 Posts
The lights should not be connected into the countertop circuits. I labeled your pictures for ease of discussion. We can see that you have two countertop circuits by the red and black wiring. We can also see that although you've only shown two boxes.... at least a third one is involved. When you are using GFI receptacles.... you need to know how the wiring is run.
 
  #5  
Old 10-08-18, 01:12 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I have updated the OP with the other outlet(that has new wire to add an outlet in addition to the existing outlet and the light switches, every outlet in the room is now pictured. Yeah the new wire was installed by my father in law and he hasn't been able to come back to help so I must try and continue on with the project alone.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: