Adding a ground bus bar to main panel


  #1  
Old 11-24-18, 02:22 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: u.s.
Posts: 133
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Adding a ground bus bar to main panel

I would like to add another bus bar for ground wires. My current one only has 12 holes with ground wires doubled and several tripled in the holes. It would be better for me to put in in another area of the panel because the current one is near the bottom side and have a mess of wiring in front of it. I have a GE panel and there are no holes or nubs that suggest a particular place to add another bus. No holes whatsoever. Is it allowable to drill holes in the panel and put one where I want to?
 
  #2  
Old 11-24-18, 03:49 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,582
Received 204 Upvotes on 174 Posts
You can drill and tap to install additional bus bars.
You could replace existing bus bar with longer one as well.
 

Last edited by lambition; 11-24-18 at 05:32 PM.
  #3  
Old 11-24-18, 05:07 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,398
Received 893 Upvotes on 754 Posts
These make it easy to drill and tap holes: https://www.harborfreight.com/sae-dr...set-95528.html

There are also others out there.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: