Where to install new electric meter..


  #1  
Old 01-05-19, 06:55 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 580
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Where to install new electric meter..

Do you have to put a new electric meter right next to or under your breaker box? I have a new addition and the main breaker box is on the inside hallway wall on the back side of the house. Do I have to mount the meter box next to it or can I mount the meter on the front of the house and run the main electric wire in conduit going to my breaker box in the back of the house?
 
  #2  
Old 01-05-19, 07:11 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 15,031
Received 629 Likes on 538 Posts
The conductors between the meter and main panel are unfused so they are required to be as short a possible to the main disconnect. If the meter is not near the main panel, a disconnect with overcurrent protection can be installed next to the meter to meet the requirement. This can be as simple as an outdoor box with a single breaker with the same rating as the existing panel. The other option would be to run conduit on the outside of the building as unfused conductors are allowed on the outside.

The other benefit of installing a disconnect next to the meter is this disconnect would be considered the main panel. That means you can run the conductors through the house using a cable if desired.
 
  #3  
Old 01-05-19, 07:16 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,401
Received 158 Likes on 139 Posts
The power company can tell you where they will allow the meter to be set. You need to check with them

Once the conductors have overccurrent protection they can be located anywhere to go to a subpanel.
 
  #4  
Old 01-05-19, 01:00 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,344
Received 463 Likes on 383 Posts
I believe the "as short as possible" requirement is for the conductors "entering" the house. So if they stay outside it might be possible.
 
  #5  
Old 01-06-19, 06:48 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 846
Received 111 Likes on 92 Posts
I second what pcboss said about calling the power company.

But my question is if this is an addition to your house (I would assume a single family house) why are you installing another meter? Maybe I am not understanding something here. Is this addition attached to your home or a separate structure? If you are replacing an existing meter why are you relocating its location then? If this is an attached addition then you should be running a sub panel form the main panel if anything.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: